We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econolodge Canterbury Court
Ranked #87 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The motel was quite dated but very clean and comfortable and was very hand for the bus into Christchurch.
We received a very warm welcome and were given free limited wifi which was a plus. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful, even to the extent of getting in our washing when it started to rain.
Considering they are still recovering from the after effects of the earthquake, they have done a remarkable job in keeping the motel goind.
All of us travellers should give the people of Christchurch and it's districts our support and continue to visit the area.

Room Tip: Any room as they are all sset in a quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank enliven64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 51 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

The location was good, and the staff very helpful. Handy to bus shelter. Very quiet in our room. Cleanliness very good, but the motel was very dated. Still the seventies furnishings. Mattress thin. I feel we paid more because accomodation was at a premium, due to the Ellerslie Flower Show.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

during the long trip home from south of Dunedin to Hawkes Bay we booked a twin bed unit for myself & my 16yr old at the Econo Lodge in Christchurch through Fly Buys. It was easy to do and so convenient. The Owners were helpful and pointed us in the right direction, several times. There was almost no outside noise at all. I would recommend the Econo Lodge was a good basic motel with tidy comfy units away from the road.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This is a nice location with a very friendly staff. We stayed there over Christmas and they made us feel right at home.

It is away from the downtown area. We took a long walk over the CBD to see the devastation of the earthquake. It was much worse that we imagined! Sad sight to see. However, we were glad to be using Christchurch as a base because it was putting some much needed tourist dollars into the economy. The city has a long way to go in order to rebuild.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gorper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We have stayed in Econo Lodge twice now. It is just down the road from the Canterbury A&P Show which we have a site at.
It is a basic motel but has all the extras required.
We have the attached units but these too are very quite because of the concrete walls.
My only gripe is that the beds are as hard as rocks.
We stayed 5 nights and the only night i got some sleep was the last one because i was sooo exhausted.
Please can you get some mattresses with a bit of cushioning in them!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I moved to Christchurch for a job, my company put me up in the motel for a whole month!, first thing I think of when I think of hotels is dingy rooms! But this hotel was surprisingly nice! Very clean and very friendly!!! I stayed in the two bedroom bungalow motel and was very happy (once I figured out there was electric blankets in the beds!!) fresh towels everyday and cleaned everyday!
The owners were very friendly and helpful!
a 5/10minute drive to Riccarton Mall & close to the Hazeldean business park! A great location!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ClairHB88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed two nights here and were impressed by the peace and quiet. Being self contained really helps with not having to hear neighours talking through the walls. The rooms were clean and the service friendly. However, we did feel that some new towels and bed linen wouldn't go amiss as the towels were thin and really worn out and the sheets didn't feel nice and fresh - a bit like a backpackers I stayed in in Wellington actually. If it's peace and quiet and value for money you're after, in a convenient location, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.6 mi away
Ashleigh Court Motel
Ashleigh Court Motel
#38 of 146 in Christchurch
265 reviews
1.4 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
2.1 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#24 of 146 in Christchurch
1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Garden City Motel
Garden City Motel
#45 of 146 in Christchurch
99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Addington City Motel
Addington City Motel
#52 of 146 in Christchurch
67 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
Tower Junction Motor Lodge
#20 of 146 in Christchurch
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econolodge Canterbury Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econolodge Canterbury Court

Address: 140 Lincoln Road, Christchurch 8024, New Zealand (Formerly Country Comfort Canterbury Court)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $76 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econolodge Canterbury Court 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Corporate / Leisure / Family / Tours & Groups Perfect For Any Event! Econolodge Canterbury Court is conveniently located in Addington... the events district of Christchurch. Walking distance to Horncastle Arena, AMI Stadium and Addington Raceway, only 10 Minutes drive from the Central City and Train Station and 20 minutes from Christchurch International Airport. Econolodge Canterbury, 140 Lincoln Road boasts 20 ground floor individual units spread across a large holiday park size (3500m2) section. All rooms are set back off the main road with space for car, trailer, truck, bus or even boat! Ideal for Corporate Travel and family holidays, as well as space for large Sports groups and/or tours, perfectly positioned for events in Christchurch with Horncastle Arena, AMI Station and Addington Raceway only minutes walk away. All rooms have kitchens with cooking facilities, serviced daily with cleaning standards second to none. We provide complimentary wireless internet to all guests with no restrictions. 25+ Digital/SKY Channels available throughout our Queen / Twin Studio Rooms, One Bedroom or Two Bedroom options with multiple bedding configurations up to 5 guests per room. Very comfortable accommodation with ongoing improvements, guest laundry onsite with rotary clothes lines and BBQ's available for those beautiful Christchurch afternoons/evenings. Breakfast options are available with either Continental or Cooked, local knowledge or recommendations for nearby restaurants or entertainment. Great option when travelling to the Garden City Christchurch, so much to offer and a great location close to all amenities, events, bars & restaurants and on Orange Bus/Metro Line. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econolodge Canterbury Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing