We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diplomat Motel
Nearby Hotels
$251
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$80
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$102
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$154
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$83
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
46
40
13
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
40
13
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmerivale mallpapanui roadoutdoor sparoad noisecomfortable bedsan updatewell equipped kitchenour night staysitting areawithin walking distancea great place to staystayed nightssupermarketunitmotelaccommodationcarpet
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 107 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Myself and my wife, together with our friends, who lived in the unit beside us, we enjoyed enormously the stay at this motel, we loved the atmosphere of hospitality with great everyday smiles of the owners: Linda and Paul, with the nice 24 hr access to the swimming pool and to hot bubblling jacuzzi, and the walking distance to the center of the town, Christchurch.
Jola and Jan

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klapouchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Both times we have stayed in Papanui for my Laser Eye Surgery over the last 4mths (excellent location for Laservision), we were very impressed with Paul & Linda's friendly & clean/tidy service. We felt the rooms were spacious, cosy/private, and to know you have free leisure of their pool & spa was quite refreshing. Free wireless internet, variety of tv channels, own kitchen, & the morning paper made our stay very enjoyable.
Thanks Paul & Linda, will see you again on our next visit.

Anthony & Janette
Nelson, NZ

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayAntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I have stayed at the Diplomat since I was a child, and now stay there with my own children when in Christchurch visiting family. It is a basic, clean and tidy motel with friendly and helpful management (Paul and Linda) and an unbeatable location - a few minutes walk to Merivale Mall and close to direct buses to the City Centre. We stayed for a week in January 2009 and again in 2010 and will certainly be staying there again when next in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We found the Motel to be well appointed. Suited us for cooking meals and entertainment at night with the TV and DVD player. Never got to use the pool or spa but both looked to be kept in clean and tidy order.
Information and support from the office personel was excellent. Able to assist in solving our issues.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeet101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

We came to New Zealand for our daughter's wedding and the Diplomat was helpful from the start. We e-mailed them about our needs, we had lots of people arriving at diifferent stages, and we intended to spend a couple of periods away from Christchurch. They advised us on how to to get the best value in terms of room rates and occupancy. Everyone was friendly and helpful, and any request was met with a "can-do" by Linda and Paul, the owners. Our family are grown up but we felt that it was a welcoming place for children. It is located in a very nice area outside the city centre, with shops, restaurants, bars and supermarket close by and a good bus service. If you're not too unfit, you can walk into town!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judithfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews