We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh food, well seasoned, will return”
Review of May's Thai

May's Thai
Ranked #206 of 1,006 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fresh food, well seasoned, will return”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

great little place to eat, service was good, food was great, the whole family enjoyed the experience, lovely fresh vegetables, well flavoured dishes, will be going again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai Food at it's best!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I have known about May's Thai for quite some time, also owner 'May' but never really had chance to try them out. I have known May for a bit and helped him with few thing around shop and I was honestly impressed about how he keeps his kitchen clean and efforts he makes to better his food.
Anyway I have finally tired May's Thai last week with my partner and found out food was absolutely beautiful!! I never really had good expectations out of small Thai or Chinese takeaway/restaurant as their food can be quite low budget and quality at the same level but the
food we got at May's were good portion with lots of fresh vege (which made sense that he told me that they shop for their vege everyday!) loads of flavors and friendly staffs.
I could go on with my good experience but to make it simple for the review.

- Small restaurant with average ambiance. (Seems making booking was good idea)
- No Credit Card (EFT-POS and Cash)
- BYO ($2 per head!)
- Takeaway available (Even doggy bag)
- G.F. and Vegetarian friendly menu.

It is small restaurant and I am not saying it is the best out there but it is a place you defiantly want to try out because restaurant full of people with smiles on their face is doing something right! P.S. I loved Fresh Chilli with Basil dish and will defiantly be trying out rest of their dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Jay_JEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Purely by chance”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Driving home after being away, we swung in here to get some takeaways - once there we decided to stay and eat in.

Set in a rather horrible block of shops, this little Thai restaurant exceeded all expectations; BYO only, exceptionally good and very affordable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank eating_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but not outstanding”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The food was very nice although we asked for medium spice for the two dishes that we ordered. However when they arrived one dish had twice the hothess - chilli of the other dish. We still enjoyed them. The place is clean, service attentive and meals of a normal quantity. Just wud have liked some fresh coriander.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mymagicroundabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good food, good service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had intended dining in but decided on take-aways. The food was extremely good and the serving size very generous. Can recommend as a good suburban Thai. The decor of the restaurant was pleasant and unpretentious as you would expect for a suburban Thai restaurant. Good food at average prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May's Thai also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to May's Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing