We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Thai Around” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of May's Thai

May's Thai
Ranked #189 of 952 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Thai Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited this very steamy restaurant on a very warm 30 c night and were thoroughly delighted with the fare we received. Our party of four had tried to dine a week ago and couldn't get a booking and we now see why! We had spicy red duck curry which was gorgeous and the right amount of heat for our mixed palates. We had the Lamb Musssam curry, drunken Fried Rice noodle with pork and the Yum salad with beef. All dishes were generous and full of flavour. The service was friendly and helpful supplying extra chilli sauces for those with a stronger constitution. Corkage is $2 per person and the meals came with ample rice to soak up the flavours. The temperatures inside was high but the lovely waitress opened the door to let in some much needed air during the meal. All thought it was the best Thai we had had for some time. The bill came to a very palatable $84 for four and we will be back very soon to try other dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Superb. Love these people their service and the food. Keep going back again and again and again! Khabonkharp guys. Really nice restaurant and fear value.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roonbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean and crisp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lovely food with clean crisp flavours- I had the ginger curry chicken (medium heat which was hot enough). Good surroundings (it was hard to believe we were sitting on Wairakei Road) and the aromas were tantalising without leaving lingering after effects on clothes, Friendly, warm staff and prompt service. Bookings ESSENTIAL- there were many disappointed people turned away while we were there. Priced well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissTinkerbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mays thai was authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

wow, my friends and i went to mays thai and just simply loved it..
fab flavours, one had the pad thai, and was simply amazing..i had combination chicken and pork in a whisky and chilli sauce..best thai i have ever had, and i am a real thai food fan.lovely warm and inviting restaurant.great service.amazing prices..about $18 each, and that was for extra rice as well..the vegetarian had satay on veges.loved it.well done mays.lovely big wine glasses, that looked very posh for a thai restaurant

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trudy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
“One of the best thai restaurant in Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Absolutely really great food and very friendly service

nOT TO BAD SPACE IN THE RESTAURANT

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank supa_tully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed May's Thai also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to May's Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing