We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel surrounded by beautiful gardens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed only one night but it was a terrific stay yet terrifying! We chose this hotel because it was so close to the train station where we caught the TransAlpine train across to Greymouth (..the most comfortable train ride anywhere) but abit of a walk (through the lovely park) to the CBD. On arrival, we were greeted in a warm and welcoming manner by all staff, especially by a lovely Japanese lady (apologies for not remembering your name). We had a room on the ground floor where the doors opened out onto the back entrance of the hotel but the view was lovely and nice to have a couple of outdoor chairs provided for guests. The room and bathroom were spacious, comfortable and very clean overall. The only items that we would fault on were the coffee cups and teaspoons, they needed to be scrubbed properly. The style of the hotel had a nice old world charm and the gardens throughout the entire place were beautiful and immaculate. It's a great place to spend a few days in for total relaxation and not needing to venture out for anything. Shame the day spa was closed while we were there but that's another reason for staying there. We got room service for dinner and it was terrific! Reasonable priced menu good portions, tasty and done with abit of care (which is rare these days). Now the terrifying part of our stay was the earthquake! At 2am in the morning we ran out of our room and onto the grass area where we met up with others who were just as disturbed byt it! Never in our lives had we such an experience and were fortunate that we had left Christchurch the following morning and escaped a bigger after -shock!! It was certainly a night to remember! Overall a wonderful stay in a wonderful hotel in a beautiful city!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabnancyMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
There are newer reviews for Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

838 - 844 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2010

A real pleasure staying in a hotel which is not a soulless high rise block.
Very attractive garden. Shuttle service simplifies getting to the centre.
Nice touches - emails a few days in advance of check in and after departure.
Food in the restaurant was excellent

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gardengnome49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We spend one night at The Chateau on the Park , perfect location , good services and wi fi available. Really good and charming hotel . Plus they offer transfer to Christchurch downtown... just awsome !!!
Really enjoy our stay ...Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoryRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Newly weds that stayed here for 10 days and In the honey moon suite, had our Wedding Reception here in the Camelot Function room and Can't wait to go back to stay their again for our first wedding anniverssary and relieve the magic. I booked a good deal on their long stay website $595 for two people for 7 nights including buffet breakfast every morning of our stay.

We awoke every morning and headed down the slated walkway and admired their gardens as we ate their beutiful breakfast every morning. Ideal parking and well equipped gym.

Loved every moment we stayed their it felt secure and homely the staff were so lovely and attentitive to everything that we needed. I would reccommend them and their wedding Package to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokin_Salmon_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My stay here was PRE-EARTHQUAKE. Older property, rooms slightly outdated but comfy. Good location just out of CBD and not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Charming, with character. Older property, but clean and well kept.
Pleasant walk through Hagley Park (botanical gardens) to the centre of the city.
Room size was adequate, but shower stall was tiny.
Reception & concierge staff very helpful.
A few of the restaurant staff could have lifted their game.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie_PwMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I have to start by saying we got a really cheap deal to stay here - and it was reccomedned as somewhere good to stay. The thing that marks it down for me was the fact that the rooms were nice and warm but the reast of the hotel was freezing cold. You could not sit in the lobbvie or lounge to chat or read a paper - it was simply too cold. And the weather was fairly mile outside for the time of the year too!

the breakfast was a 7/10 - ok really but not a large amount of choice. The locaton was ok - a 20 min walk to the town centre - but through the lovely park - or on the free shuttle bus. Not enough storage space int he rooms for me either. 4 coat hangers and 3 small draws - but two large cupboard that you could do nothing with because they had niether hangers nor shelves.

It was ok for the money - and apart form small beds ( but i think this is because i am used to a large bed at home) we slept well. But I would NOT go back again in the winter!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cn-three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,896 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
653 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#22 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $107 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing