We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not hugely impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not hugely impressed”
Reviewed December 3, 2006

quite 'old-fashioned' hotel - 70's glam and the breakfast room reminded me of a service station in south wales. Not that that's a particularly bad thing of course! Good breakfast. Shuttle service stops at around 7:30pm and doesn't start til around 9am. We also stayed at the Heritage which was on the cathedral square - nicer hotel and better location.

  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sld08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    383
    232
    63
    25
See reviews for
141
472
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed one night at the Chateau on the Park. The hotel is close to the downtown area, but feels like you are in the country. The free shuttle service to downtown is handy. Our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The gardens are gorgeous. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2006

We were all really charmed by this hotel. Very beautiful gardens with lots of color. The resident cat, Sebastian, added to the charm. The bar and restaurant worked well for us. The concierge was very helpful. If I have any complaints, it would be that the shower was a bit small, but overall it was a great place to stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank HawaiianHercules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

The Chateau on the Park is a wonderful hotel! It became a home from home as we used Christchurch as a base for our South Island adventure. In a five week period we spent over a week in stays of various lengths, usually booked it last minute and they delivered both good prices and excellent service.
The hotel itself has a rustic charm seldom experienced in city hotels. The hotel is a 20 minute walk across Hagley Park to the city centre which is both close enough to reach and far enough to be away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre.
The staff were always friendly and attentive always going that extra step to make a good holiday into a great one!

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank BowmontWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We originally only booked one night at the Chateau, but ended up returning for two more nights at the end of our trip because it was such a nice place. The rooms were clean and modern and each room we stayed in had a lovely view of the gardens, which even in winter were very pretty. What I liked most was the real homely atmosphere -- helped by regular sightings of Sebastian the Hotel Cat -- however, you still felt like you were somewhere special. It is a bit of a walk to the city centre (although thereis a shuttle bus) and you are pretty much dependant on the in-house restaurant or room service for dinner if you don't have a car. Overall though, a wonderful retreat particularly if you have made that long trek from down south.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank neme06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 24, 2006

We stayed in the "Chateau" twice -- once coming and once going. It is a nice place, is a little outdated, but the rooms are clean, the staff is nice, and it has all of the amenities that you would need traveling. We ate in the hotel restaurant one night and it was decent. After traveling throughout the South Island I actually felt very content knowing that we were returning to the Chateau -- knew it would be a nice, clean hotel with a good warm strong shower and we could relax before heading home.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing