We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2010

Good location for train station. rooms a bit dated. couldn't even eat in restaurant since it was so busy. Cool hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manya22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2010

Enjoyed our two night stay at this hotel. Room was quite spacious and clean. Hotel approx 15-20 walk into town through the park, although not recommended at night as could be a bit scary.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arabinblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We had booked a twin room (2 double beds) over the internet, when we arrived at check-in we were given a room with 1 king bed, it then took the staff 10 minutes to find us a twin room as “they were fully booked”!! Not the best first impression.

The room was very tired and in desperate need of an upgrade - mismatched carpet and old 1970's style furniture - definitely not a 4 star hotel!! There was a large gap under our door from the corridor to our room which made it hard to sleep due to the noise and light from the corridor. The bathrobes advertised on the website were not in our room, the mini-bar was empty, the TV made a constant buzzing noise, the window didn’t close properly and there was a half used toilet roll under a chair in our room when we arrived so obviously cleaners weren’t cleaning much. The “info book/folder” in our room was half empty and missing most information, the pool & spa was very hard to find due to no signage anywhere in the hotel.

As it was Easter the hotel restaurant charged a surcharge for meals, so was cheaper for us to eat at restaurants and cafes in town that did not have a surcharge.

We would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidayKickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2010

The hotel is a good choice for a quiet location next to the Botanical Gardens yet not too far from the town. However it is a 20min walk across the park to reach the edge of the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshirelad88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

Sounded so great on the website, but what a tired, noisy, smelly and run down dump this was. The room was filthy, the furniture all worn out (bed however was clean and comfortable). The bathroom was really dated and constantly smelled. The staff were pleasant enough but not helpful at all (how do they manage that?). This place has really had its day, and with so many fantastic places to stay in Christchurch, I would give this place a wide berth if you have the choice

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doodles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2010

It would help English speakers if the reception desk employees spoke a more clearly enunciated English. We had to ask several employees to repeat themselves over and over.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank GAtravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Chateau on the Park on the first night of our month long tour of NZ. We took a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was in a good location for us. Situated on the far side of the city park, it meant we could walk into the city (about 10 mins) and not have to negotiate the town traffic when moving onto Kaikoura the next day. The hotel was unexpectedly quite large but quiet and set in lovely gardens. The room service that night was very reasonable and meant we didn't have to go out after our long day. Our room had a king bed, airconditioned and very comfortable. Good value and a good start to our holiday

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cruizin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,062 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $100 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing