We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Stay You'll Remember for A Long Time !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #15 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This Chateau is actually in the midst of a Park. You'll actually hear ctickets & other insects chirping & birds singing ! One feels relaxed immediately on entering the Chateau premisis. One gets a feel of staying in a huge Colonial bunglow,with gardens all around,and one cannot see the neighbours!.The hotel rooms are excellent in size & comfort. The hotel lays out a great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the higher floor overlooking the lawns at the back and facing the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hemant01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2014

Chateau On The Park - the name is a tease.f
We even booked a deluxe twin share park view room. What a joke. We got a great view of the roof and air conditioning pipes.
We could have lived with that but our room was immediately above the reception area that had a very heavy office door that slammed about every 10 - 15 minutes, and shook right up through our room each time - ALL NIGHT, no exaggeration!
It was impossible to get continuous sleep.
We've done a lot of travelling but that has to be one of the noisiest and worst .nights we have ever had.
So much for paying top dollar for a good night's rest.
Could not recommend.
Don and Heather S
Perth, Western Australia

Room Tip: Insist on a room guaranteed fto be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We arrived in Christchurch at 7pm on a Saturday night without any accommodation booked. After a quick Agoda search we found a bargain at Chateau on the Park. The Agoda website would not process our booking so we decided to go in to the hotel and see what they could offer.

The Duty Manager, Kerri was on the reception as it was very busy at the time we arrived. She was extremely friendly and helpful and matched the Agoda price for us and even upgraded our room for no extra charge.

The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and warm, with free wifi (a rare find in NZ). Although the bathroom was a little dated, it was fantastic with a separate bath and powerful shower, Egyptian Cotton towels and French Connection toiletries.

The restaurant and bar were reasonably priced for good food and excellent friendly service.

The whole hotel had a lovely homey and comfortable feel to it. After traveling around the South Island for a few days, we returned to Chateau on the Park for another few nights stay before our flight out of Christchurch.

Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a garden view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014

We arrived here after a long drive from Franz Josef along the Great Alpine highway.
Large hotel and well located, near the airport and city center. Is right next to Hagley park, can actually walk through the park to city center (which is still a big rebuilding site after the 2011 earthquake).
Room 146. Spacious, clean, large and comfortable bed. Furniture looks somewhat old.
Some areas of the hotel are still under maintenance due to the 2011 heartquake.
The hotel has a cute cat that wanders around the establishment.
We had dinner at the hotel restaurant, really enjoyed it.
We had garlic bread, rack of lamb, fresh seasonal fish, cheesecake, glass of chardonnay and a Monteiths golden: 101,50$. Well worth the price.
All dishes were well cooked, nice recipes, good quality ingredients.
Chateau in the Park is definitely a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed there for a night with my girlfriend after 1 month of traveling sleeping in the car around the South Island. We enjoyed arriving in a warm comfy room with 2 king size beds, TV, fridge and a warm unlimited shower. Everything was clean and we didn't find any bad points. It's close to the road but it stays really quiet. The hardest part was to leave the room the next morning ^^

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NathanandElise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent a short time at this hotel.
It is an interesting place. The lobby looked kind of 70's modern but also had a feel of an English castle with a knight in armor in the lobby. It has some beautiful grounds with a pond like area that can be viewed while walking through the hotel's lobby area.
The hallways had nice carpeting. I had an appetizer in the lounge area. This was a nice place to have a drink and relax after a long day of travel.
The room was kind of beat up looking. There was a big stain on the carpeting. You had to keep the bathroom door shut so that the steam wouldn't set off a smoke alarm. The bed and bedding were terrible. The desk reception staff weren't very friendly. Maybe there are better rooms than the one I had at this place. Otherwise I would check out other places in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
I am disappointed to hear that you found our reception staff unfriendly, as we often receive very positive comments about the reception team.
We have just completed our earthquake repairs and we are currently refreshing the accommodation rooms. Unfortunately it sounds like you may have been in a room that is still to under go it's soft refurbishment.
Thank you again for your comments.

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The kids nicknamed this place Hotel Transylvania for it's slightly medieval appearance but it had it's own unique characteristics and overall it we all enjoyed it.

The reception and inner workings of the hotel is very appeasing with glass windows, water and nature being the focal point. It really is quite elegant.

The staff were friendly, helpful and informative.

The room that we stayed in was somewhat dated and it actually had a TV set, yes that's set as it a old school box tv unlike flat screens that have been in every other hotel/motel that I have stayed in over the last several years. I suspect however that the TV's are being updated and it's just a matter of time before they are replaced with a flat screen. They even use keys for the doors instead of keycards. Quaint...

Our room was a little on the small side but it did contain two double beds so it is understandable. The bathroom however was spacious which was handy. House keeping did a great job every morning ensuring that the room was immaculate.

The bedding was interesting, a firm mattress with what appeared to be a sheet and a very thin duvet on top of it but thanks to the heating in the room itself it was more than adequate and so a good sleep ensued.

We had breakfast three mornings there and really enjoyed it. Friendly staff and a great selection of food to be had and it really was a great way to start the day.

Location wise it's a close to Hagley Park and only a couple minutes drive to a mall so it' a convenient location to centralise your travels from.

A gym and guest laundry are also available.

We managed to get a special rate which was available at the time on their website and it really was worth the price and hopefully we can get the same rate next year to enjoy their services again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank NesianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,076 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
708 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $103 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing