We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather a grand name for an average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #18 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

On first appearances this hotel seemed to have been recently refurbished as the the reception area is airy and new looking. However, this was misleading. Our room was on the small side and rather tired. More worrying was the fact that a power socket was coming away from the wall and a permanent notice announcing that we had to keep the bathroom door closed as steam sets off the fire alarm! All the electrical items in the room were overdue for testing too.
When it rained buckets appeared in all the public areas (reception, bar, restaurant)! The bar is dark and quite frankly some of the furniture was grubby.
Breakfast was not of the quality we had elsewhere in New Zealand (at comparable cost).
We had dinner in the restaurant and the food was good quality and value for money.
There is free wifi (albeit slow) and free parking. There is also a hotel cat!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and bringing to our attention the outdated electrical item. We do have a scheduled timetable for testing all electrical items in the rooms but due to human error this room must have been missed.
We have just completed our earthquake repairs which included a complete rebuild of our reception area and we are currently refreshing all of our accommodation rooms.
Thank you again for your feedback.

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,042)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spend our last night in New Zealand in this hotel, it is very well situated. Close to Riccarton Road (for eating, shopping etc.) and also close to Hagley Park. Enough parking space for our rental car. The hotel is really big and we had a room at the back side of the entrance, facing the gardens. It was really quiet and relaxed. I think this is different for rooms at the entrance side, the road is quiet busy.
The room was spacious and clean. The bed was good (regarding firmness) and the bathroom a bit dated but clean as well. We did not have breakfast as it was quite expensive, we went to a place on Riccarton Road instead.
At 8.30 we were woken by the room-lady entering the room to clean up. That was a bit strange, we could check out up to 10.30. So make sure to light the 'do not disturb' sign before you go to bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel, this is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Chateau on the Park. We appreciate your positive comments about our gardens and the quiet room. We are set on 5 acres of landscaped gardens which ensures plenty of quiet spaces to relax.
I would like to apologise for our over eager room attendant.
Thank you again for your feedback.

kind regards

Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Pleasant location on edge of main city park but at least 20-30 mins walk to the edge of city centre, museum & botanical gardens - through the golf course or around the park perimter. City parking is not easy or cheap so taxis may be required. The start of Riccarton Road (a long road with wide choice of restaurants etc) is about 200 yards away. There's a free shuttle bus to the railway station and the airport shuttle costs $19 for the 1st person but less for others. We caught the local bus to the airport after returning our hire car at cost of $8 per person.

The hotel is large and has several restaurants and a bar at reasonable prices and breakfast was good. The small pool and laundry were bonuses. We saw several rooms and they all seemed a good size but with different furniture arrangements but little storage space and our room rather oddly had the larger of the 2 double beds pushed up against a wall! The 01/09 suites back on to a busy road and the sound-proofing against traffic noise was not great, so garden facing rooms are probably quieter.

Room Tip: Garden rooms may be quieter. Suites 01/09 are close to car park and a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
We are very lucky to have such a fabulous location next to Hagley Park and close to the shopping and dining area of Riccarton Road.
The walk to the city through the park is lovely but we also have a complimentary shuttle that goes into town on a scheduled timetable.
Thank you again for your feedback

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Set in beautiful gardens with (for us) a pleasant 25 minute walk through Hagley Park to City centre, We were not allocated booked balcony room but it was changed when I asked helpful reception staff. Room 238 quite drab with balcony overlooking beautiful gardens. Breakfast was mixed. My wifes French toast was excellent but the hot buffet was poor quality and not hot. I asked for two fried eggs which eventually came on a plate one slapped on top of the the other, rock hard and swimming in browned oil - someone just did not care. I complained and whilst the waitress said she would only charge for a continental ( a juice and a coffee) no-one actually said sorry. We came back in the evening to find our room not cleaned. Housekeeping had gone home so nothing could be done. The duty manager came to the room with a porter who would make our bed for us. We can make our own bed but frankly what you need is the bathroom cleaned and the tea & coffee stuff replaced which wasn't on offer. She brought a free bottle of wine and some chocolate and a free breakfast, which was generous but not really what we wanted. We didn't feel like trying breakfast again - oh and there were no glasses to drink the wine from! Free in room wifi a bonus.
Overall a poor experience. A shame.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony overlooking the gardens have a better outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yarrow1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night before heading off for 2 weeks in campervan. We had been looking for one last little bit of luxury. Whilst a very plesant hotel it isnt luxury and for the extra paid to stay here it wasnt really worth it. Was clean and very peaceful and breakfast was really good. Would stay again if I could get a deal otherwise probably go closer to town centre.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The hotel is set in nice gardens opposite Hagley Park and close to the Botanical Gardens. We had a first floor rom overlooking a car park containing two king size beds. It's just as well we were staying for two nights as there was not much storage for clothes. However the room was comfortable enough if unremarkable.
We ate in the bar both nights even though there is a selection of restaurants a few minutes walk away. Bar meals were perfectly acceptable.
A perfectly good hotel for us.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Tynes1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdm8161, Director of Sales at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We appreciate your positive comments and I am delighted that you enjoyed our close location to Hagley Park.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your bar meals.
Thank you for your feedback.

kind regards
Dorothy Pickering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Already at the entrance one gets a dark and dusk sort of medieval feel. The red sofas dont change it. The reception area seems to be redecorated and the staff is efficient.
Rooms are dull and oldfashionned. Well used furniture to be replaced urgently.
Bed was fine and so was bathroom but equaly aged as rest of hotel.
Staff at breakfast and lunch was very friendly and effective but coffee served as standard seemed rather coming from the disgwasher than from the coffee machine. Well stuffed buffet with lots of choices but cooked stuff too much cantine like. Not very tasty.
Dull restaurant interior

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,939 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
647 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Riccarton, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $117 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. Ask our friendly staff about the hotel’s Baronial architecture and complimentary shuttle to the CBD as they welcome you with a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. This charming escape from ordinary life offers smart amenities including seven dedicated meeting spaces and a business kiosk. Enjoy the heated outdoor pool and modern fitness room. Select a refurbished guest room, also available with accessible amenities, a garden view room or a suite with a jetted tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing