We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed-outdated rooms. Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Disappointed-outdated rooms. Expected better”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on two different nights over two weeks. First night was a room near the rear on the bottom level and second night was room 238, which apparently was an "upgrade" but I dont see how although the balcony was nice.

On arrival (both times), there isnt a baggage trolley in sight so you have to get your own bags to reception and then to your rooms. No offer to help with luggage to our rooms and no offer to provide a trolley.

On our second visit I asked where the trolleys were located, was told "we can get you one". No dammit, just have them available at the front. People paying these daily rates shouldn’t have to haul their bags in and through a lobby to get to you before asking if they can have one. Later we found trolleys hidden near the elevator at the rear entrance.

On departure, while watching my husband push the luggage trolley (that we located ourselves) there was no offer of help from two staff members that walked passed us and wished us good morning.

Both times Im left disappointed by the outdated rooms. Old 80's formica salmon beige bathrooms and fixtures, noisy empty mini fridges which the compressors kick in every 20mins to the point I had to unplug the first at 3am and unplugged the second an hour after checkin and the first room had a clunky old style TV that hasn’t been made in about a decade. Our first room at least had a king size bed but the second room had only a queen and basically they have a motel style about them. Old. Outdated. Unstylish.

Another hint for the hotel, if you read these reviews. Puts a bench outside so those waiting for taxis can sit and relax instead of standing in the doorway, getting in the way of others for up to 10 minutes.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was OK but what you expect for a buffet. Just OK but the restaurant staff were lovely.

Overall I really expected (and hoped for) better. I didnt even want to return for the second night and was prepared to book another hotel at extra cost but hubby said it was paid for so lets go to it.

I won’t be returning to this hotel on our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denali68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    383
    232
    63
    25
See reviews for
141
472
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
394 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The location on the park was perfect as it was a short walk of about 15 minutes to downtown which takes you across the park. The Museum, the Botanic Gardens and Punting on the Avon were all located close together and easy to find as we were on foot. The hotel was still under quake reconstruction but with minimal inconvenience. The staff was friendly and accommodating as we had asked for 2 beds, the room was made a 1 king, they promptly responded to splitting our beds. The rooms were big, nice sitting area, balcony, refrigerator, large bathrooms. The beds were very comfy with nice linens. Both evenings we ate dinner in the bar and enjoyed our food. The location is quiet. This not your regular motel with a parking lot at your door. The grounds were covered with blooming gardens of roses. The hotel arranged a free shuttle for the Pacific coastal train.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy2645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Wow... It was an experience which will remain logged in our memories forever. This quaint looking place with its lush green settings was a good break from the regular hotels. It was quite, clean and well maintained (even though the earthquake had a huge impact on the area) ...the staff at the reception was friendly and extended help in every way that they could. The gardens of the hotel and other green areas are worth a mention and walk around especially during summer months. A relaxed comfortable stay ...

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony... As I believe alternate rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmsKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very quiet location on the green belt just out of the city. Only complaint is the small double bed in a large room. Rooms a bit dark but adequate. They're still reconstructing after the earthquake, including a sort of pond/moat!? Pseudo olde worlde exterior style but the bar is a cosy English pub feel. Very good restaurant overlooking a nice garden.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed if you're not both small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Chateau is a strange hotel offering clean, affordable accommodation in a well landscaped area but lacked any warmth or atmostphere. It was like an upmarket motel and quite impersonal which forced my wife and I, across for the rugby to spend all waking hours outside of it. Fortunately, the park was a relatively short walk and there were some decent bars and restaurants nearby and Christchurch taxis are cheap so it was not difficult to travel afar. Hotel aside, Christchurch is like an antipodean version of its namesake in England although it's River Avon is really no wider than a stream. To sum up The Chateau it had the look and setting of a warm and friendly small hotel with the ambience and personality of an inner city 4* monolithic chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Appreciate this hotel is still doing and having to do a lot of work after the earthquake, but there is no excuse for old decor/appliances and uncleaniness. My bathroom was filthy with scum around the taps, tiles, etc. I only stayed here as unable to get into my usual hotel. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here 1 night while on business. The location is not really close walking distance to anywhere. You need a car. The hotel is very spacious and quiet. The grounds are really beautiful. The pool area is stunning. The view from the restaurant is very restful. The restaurant was convenient and had a nice atmosphere. Waiting staff were a bit slow off the mark.
My room was roomy and comfortable. I love the hotel cat Gary. What a lovely idea to have a hotel cat. Just like home.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 144 in Christchurch
244 reviews
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Property: Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing