We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top class hotel & restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Ranked #19 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2012

All 'Allo 'Allo fans will appreciate that in the restaurant the dessert includes the Gateau from the Chateau! Too much chocolate for me - so I had the ice cream sundae (which really should have come in a tall glass - not a dish).

Anyway, we had two rooms at the Chateau. There was a concierge/porter who took our hefty bags to the room. The room backed onto gardens. Beautiful. We were on time for lunch. I'll just mention the Belly of Pork that I had; the triumph is in getting the crackling hard - and the meat quantity was generous. The pork was laid on a bed of mashed potato steeped in a cider sauce. Amazing.

The dinner menu was the same as the lunch menu, plus the specials that made the difference. Two of my party had roast sirloin of beef - a portion larger than I'd dish out at home.

The bar provided us with perfectly made cocktails. Cooked breakfast next morning included back bacon (far better than the el cheapo streaky bacon some hotels like to get away with).

I heartily recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Christchurch - sadky a city centre that is pretty well levelled to the ground following the eathquakes in 2010/2011.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suspishio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
There are newer reviews for Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed this week. Despite earthquake issues we were very disappointed in the stay. Rooms are very outdated, amenities poor and the service average. No sight of "management" making sure that things are up to scratch. The price was excessive for what was provided.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank PJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Now then, come on let's get moving this hotel into the twentyfirst century Christchurch! This hotel has many things going for it - location on the edge of Hagley Park, it is largely untouched by the devastation of the centre of town and therefore one of the few hotels on offer close to the centre. But, there are significant downsides to this hotel............
Reception staff are excellent, Gary the hotel cat patrols the corridors and provides a purring welcome (sorry if you don't like cats!!). In addition the gardens are lovely and there are excellent conference facilities - when we were there the world's magicians were in the hotel. Yes, the rooms are dated, but the bed was big and comfortable, and the room spacious. What we would like to see is the food offer catching up with what the best of New Zealand offers - breakfasts in bars and cafes knock spots off what the chateau offers and the evening dinner menu and bar service was decidely average. We opted for room service and the order was wrongly delivered and the quality of bread and salad when it came was poor. Breakfast each morning was quite dreadful and the attitude of some waiting staff was casual at best. Chateau conjours up quality images and a certain style of service that is not met here - a shame, because it could be wonderful........On top of that the night staff do not control the poor behaviour of some guests and noise in the corridors and from some rooms was unacceptable. Improved management could make such a difference, and it would appear that complacency and lack of competition due to earthquake damage to other hotels is adversely affecting the chateau, that seems to be living in the past and on its former glories?

Room Tip: Garden rooms on ground floor have patio doors
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malcsaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First night on a 10 day NZ drive-motel tour - reception was very hospitable and inviting - room excellent - just what we needed to settle in - dinner at the local restaurant met up with what was listed in the menu - the night turned out to be noisy until 3 AM - apparently a party a few rooms down _ breakfast seemed a bit rushed, we had to the paper work and billing plan sorted out before we were assigned seats and the first cuppa! - besides this little hiccup, breakfast was indeed very tasty - check out was easy, and again reception was very helpful with information about our forward journey - this city has lost a lot with the EQ, and of what's left they have a lot to be proud of!

Room Tip: garden facing rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2stepRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

old furniture, old decor, old, old , old
had a small CRT TV, the bathroom needs a major update, windows needed cleaning.... just really low quality

on the plus side, the staff were nice, helpful and the food was better than expected, but nothing flash.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a very uncomfortable night at this hotel. The first shock came when we saw the makeshift pillars in the lobby. It was obvious that despite the certificate stuck on the door of the hotel, which declares the hotel fit to be operational, the hotel is still lacking woefully in even the basic amenities. We had to spend a night in this hotel, when the temperature was only around 3 degrees centigrade, without a heater because the heater was not working. The hotel looked very eerie and there was a cat prowling along the corridors, trying to enter the rooms. The hotel staff came and checked the heater, certified that it was not working and left saying they could do nothing more!!! The next morning, we were a informed that there would be no buffet breakfast and that the a la carte service would take a long time. We literally fled from the hotel to the airport because we thought we would get a decent bite in warmer surroundings at least at the airport. Indifferent staff, terrible ambience, badly appointed rooms, inadequate restaurant facilities - as far as we are concerned Chateau on the Park was a complete disaster!

Room Tip: Ensure that all renovation is complete before you book the room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MotheroftwoBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We use this hotel for business trips for all our staff. It has a 70's feel but they are doing it up slowly after the earthquakes. It is nice and quiet ( the quietest in CHCH) so you'll get a good sleep.;]
The gardens are well established and you can sit amongst the roses for breakfast or lunch in the warmer months. All the staff are friendly and welcoming,and for the price you pay its good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,899 reviews
1.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.2 mi away
Argyle on the Park
Argyle on the Park
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton

Address: 189 Deans Avenue, Christchurch 8440, New Zealand (Formerly Chateau on the Park Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $106 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is designed to provide a tranquil, resort-like stay. The 5-acre property - boasting a moat, a vineyard and a beautiful rose garden - makes our Christchurch, New Zealand hotel feel secluded, but it is only 2.9km from the city. From this hotel, you'll be able to walk to Christchurch Botanic Gardens, Hagley Golf Club and the western business district. Riccarton Westfield and the University of Canterbury also are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chateau On The Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing