We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$102
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$154
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$112
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$80
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
$120
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$81
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Classic Villa(Christchurch)
$96
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)
$83
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$251
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,237)
Filter reviews
1,237 results
Traveler rating
381
489
264
74
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
381
489
264
74
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagley parkdouble treecity centrebotanical gardensnew zealandlovely hotelbeautiful parkduty managerhotel restaurantreception areavery pleasant stayroom was spaciousfree shuttlethe ground floorstayed here for one nightsouth islandearthquake
Filter
Updating list...
959 - 964 of 1,237 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First night on a 10 day NZ drive-motel tour - reception was very hospitable and inviting - room excellent - just what we needed to settle in - dinner at the local restaurant met up with what was listed in the menu - the night turned out to be noisy until 3 AM - apparently a party a few rooms down _ breakfast seemed a bit rushed, we had to the paper work and billing plan sorted out before we were assigned seats and the first cuppa! - besides this little hiccup, breakfast was indeed very tasty - check out was easy, and again reception was very helpful with information about our forward journey - this city has lost a lot with the EQ, and of what's left they have a lot to be proud of!

Room Tip: garden facing rooms are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2stepRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

old furniture, old decor, old, old , old
had a small CRT TV, the bathroom needs a major update, windows needed cleaning.... just really low quality

on the plus side, the staff were nice, helpful and the food was better than expected, but nothing flash.

Stayed: October 2012
2  Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a very uncomfortable night at this hotel. The first shock came when we saw the makeshift pillars in the lobby. It was obvious that despite the certificate stuck on the door of the hotel, which declares the hotel fit to be operational, the hotel is still lacking woefully in even the basic amenities. We had to spend a night in this hotel, when the temperature was only around 3 degrees centigrade, without a heater because the heater was not working. The hotel looked very eerie and there was a cat prowling along the corridors, trying to enter the rooms. The hotel staff came and checked the heater, certified that it was not working and left saying they could do nothing more!!! The next morning, we were a informed that there would be no buffet breakfast and that the a la carte service would take a long time. We literally fled from the hotel to the airport because we thought we would get a decent bite in warmer surroundings at least at the airport. Indifferent staff, terrible ambience, badly appointed rooms, inadequate restaurant facilities - as far as we are concerned Chateau on the Park was a complete disaster!

Room Tip: Ensure that all renovation is complete before you book the room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MotheroftwoBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We use this hotel for business trips for all our staff. It has a 70's feel but they are doing it up slowly after the earthquakes. It is nice and quiet ( the quietest in CHCH) so you'll get a good sleep.;]
The gardens are well established and you can sit amongst the roses for breakfast or lunch in the warmer months. All the staff are friendly and welcoming,and for the price you pay its good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ifsnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel, damaged by the earthquake, is open for business but rather overpriced at their roadside advertised price of NZ $ 230 a night double.It is old fashioned and only the bathroom appears to have been refurbished. The buffet breakfast offered cheap cereals but there was a good selection of stewed fruits.Breads were largely of the budget variety, unimaginative.
I asked for the $16 breakfast but was informed abruptly that I had to accept the dearer "buffet" selection that was part of my room package. I couldn't figure that one out.
No complaints of the reception staff, cheerful and courteous.
I agree with the other comments made here.Perhaps a total revamp is on the books once the hotel is fully functioning.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor, you may get above the unattractive hotel roofs.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2kiwis_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews