We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2010

This hotel was great.....not only was it clean, comfortable,lovely surroundings,excellent service but it also provided an amazing atmosphere. This is a family run hotel and that shows with every attention to detail in order to make your stay a great one! It is also a short distance into the city centre where there are lots of fine restaurants,shops and bars! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aaw46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    183
    96
    33
    18
See reviews for
134
194
27
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

I stayed here on a business trip and will be returning to this hotel again. The staff are friendly. Great food, comfortable rooms and close to the city. Thanks Deborah and Graeme for making my stay enjoyable. I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VixN77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2010

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband, son (2yrs) and my husbands parents, one night when we first arrived in Christchurch and then one night at the end of our ten day driving holiday.
The first room we got was on the ground floor. It was quite spacious and had a large spa bath in the bathroom. Although it was clean, large and warm it was by no means "modern" apart from the tv. That said this is a "budget" hotel and the room was good considering what we paid.
The second room we stayed in was on the top floor, this room wasn't as good in my opinion. It was smaller and had a very small bathroom with no bath. Not so good when traveling with children. However it was still clean, warm and the beds were comfy.

We ate at the restaurant on our first night and all of us ate something different and we all enjoyed our meals. The fish was especially good!

I can't say much about the location as we had a car and only really sleep and then left early. But I did notice it was near a lot of restaurants and other hotels, but I have no idea of the walking distance to the city.

Overall I would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere nice and clean to stay but don't want to pay too much. Just be careful which room you get if you are traveling with young children.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blah-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
459 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

This was our first vist to New Zealand,used the free phone in the airport to phone the Pavilions hotel for free pick up,our room was on the first floor, very clean,large sitting room plus bedroom,and spacious bathroom.We didn't use the restaurant at all as we were room only,there were restaurants and cafes near by all within walking distance.To walk from the hotel to the center of cathedral square took about 20 minutes.Would recommend the Bailise Irish Pub in cathedral square for a meal, it was excellent.The botanic gardens are worth alook,there's a free shuttle bus that goes round Christchurch,also a tram for a small charge.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drury
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

the quality service, beautiful surroundings. One stop Hotel, Opening windows to balconys, restaurant, cafe, bar, very freindly owners. Took my mother and father (with dementia) we like to stay where everything is in easy access (i.e. bar, restaurant) this hotel ticked all the boxes, totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Staff were friendly and gave us good advice regarding getting around the city and finding shops we needed. Getting up the stairs with heavy suitcases was a pain as there is no lift however the staff did offer to take our bags up for us. The room was light and big enough for two of us. I was disappointed with the bed which I could not sleep in all night as it sagged too much with both of us in it. I moved to the spare double bed. We dined in the restaurant for breakfast and found it very bright and reasonably priced for a basic continental brekky. I might stay again but I would be very specific about asking for a firm bed. We only stayed one night and found it was a good location just out of the city central but still very convenient and it was also very affordable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keenphotographers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2010

Our first visit to NZ and just arrived from UK but not impressed with this motel, it was our own fault for not checking out the motel before we booked 4 nights via the travel agent. We subsequently found out it had not been graded by the Qualmark New Zealand classification scheme - 'tourism's official quality mark', most motels in Christchurch appear to have been awarded 4 or 5 star.

On arrival, we were greeted by a surly lady at reception and shortly afterwards a man appeared from the office - who turned out to be the manager. We thought he was going to welcome us, but instead grunted, and walked over to the suitcases and proceeded to shift them with his foot saying "we better move these as someone is going to fall over"

The room was on the ground floor and in poor decorative order, with cracked sink which gave a feeling of the room being dirty, which it was not.

We visited the restaurant only once and was dissapointed with the food and service - there was none ! The soup was 40 minutes arriving, and the veg with the main course failed to arrive until after we had finished eating. The waiter was clearly embarresed by the delay and told us that they are short staffed sometimes.

We concluded that this motel has a connedction with a local tour company because when the tour was not staying at the motel, the motel was almost empty.

The motel location however was good - 15 mins walk into town.

On completion of our trip to NZ, we were able to reflect on the standard of the other motels we had stayed and concluded that without exception, all provided good value, food, service and accomodation and of course great NZ hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Property: Pavilions Hotel
Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing