We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable stay”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #12 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Very basic 2 bedroom hotel room. Needs to be modernised. Kids had a blast!! Spa and pool kept them very happy and occupied :-) Overall we enjoyed our stay. Good service. Excellent location. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Familys go for the more expensive 2 bedroom room.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
I am glad your kids had a great stay - the spa and pool are well liked by the kids and it does keep them entertained. 2 bedroom basic hotel room are smaller and normally for a 1 night stay only. I would certainly recommend booking the deluxe 2 bedroom for your next stay. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    185
    97
    33
    19
See reviews for
136
199
28
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
263 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I arrived late in the evening after a long day of travel in late February and was met by one of the rudest night clerks I’ve ever encountered at a hotel/motel. He just threw my key across the counter, and as it was my first time staying at the hotel, I wasn’t sure where to find my room. I asked him politely, and he, in turn, politely directed me towards it. The room was fine, nothing special, but definitely suitable for a good night’s rest. The next morning, I was greeted by a very friendly staff of two at the front desk, catching me a bit off-guard after the night before. I stay in Christchurch quite often for work, but in the future, I might think twice about asking to stay at the Pavillions if I’m arriving late at night.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank RunsAmok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We appreciate you making the time to post comment, it helps us to improve our service to perfection. It is extremely disappointing to read your feedback with regards to our night staff and as I am not sure which member of staff this is I will be addressing this with both of our night staff. It is our policy to take you to your room along with your bags on arrival so I am unsure why this situation arose. Other reviews here on Trip Advisor certainly point out that our staff are fantastic, so it is good to see you did experience good service in the mornings. Please be assured your comments will be dealt with and we do hope that you give us another go next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was a family trip so we were looking for an apartment with two bed rooms and a kitchenette,
the Pavilions seemed to have all we needed, The check in was very pleasant with a very smiley
young lady on the front desk, heaps of parking to chose from, and the apartment was to say the least superb, we were up stairs so it was quite quite, very spacious , lovely beds and two big rocking chairs and a sofa in the lounge, what more could one ask for. We found it was only a short walk in to town ( 10mins or so ) or the casino. we had dinner in the restaurant and found the service superb, the dinner was excellent, ( try the chefs new pumpkin and ginger soup ) the bar man was was old school, could,t Do enough for us, a wonder full night. I can only rate our stay as first class , thank you all, we will be back again.

Room Tip: Just come and stay, they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaneo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We really appreciate you taking time to post comment. Our 2 bedroom Deluxe apartments are very spacious indeed and perfect for a family stay. Its great you enjoyed your meals with us and our fantastic staff. We will be glad to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

A truly outstanding (in every way) family owned and operated Hotel. Wonderful, clean, light and spacious rooms, excellent food, superb convenient location and as for the staff, well where do I start my thank you's !!! Debbie, Keith, Cam, Mark, Troy and all of you guys have made me feel so welcome, I can't thank you enough !! I have stayed in many top notch hotels all over the world but I have never felt so welcomed and comfortable ever. From the minute you check in to the minute you check out the experience at Pavillions is Truly "Outstanding" thank you again and look forward to seeing you on my next trip !!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank VWPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such fabulous feedback on your stay with us. We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us and have acknowledged our outstanding staff. I do agree our food is excellent and its nice to see you also enjoyed the clean and spacious rooms. We look forward to seeing you again when you are back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We spent our last night of 3 weeks traveling across NZ at Pavilions hotel at the end of February 2014 and couldn't have been happier. The staff were so welcoming and helpful with local directions, advice and went above and beyond we felt to make our stay comfortable and fun.
The room itself was spacious, clean and comfortable and we really didn't want to leave!
Thank you so much Pavilions hotel..we will definitely be back and have recommended you already to friends and family!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to post comment on your stay. I am glad that you noticed our staff and their fantastic service - they really do strive to provide the best. Thanks for the recommendations and we do hope to see you back this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Pavilions yesterday night with my husband and 4 month old baby. While the hotel is clean and conveniently located, They are too rigid and inconsiderate for families with babies to the point of being outright rude. I have been to about 40 countries and I have never given a poor review, but also I was never treated with such rudeness about extending check out time because I needed few extra minutes to calm my crying baby to check out of the room. I do not recommend it if you are with children.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sangbhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for acknowledging that our hotel is clean and conveniently located. We always do our best to accommodate guests no matter what their circumstances. Unfortunately it is a very busy time of year and we are fully booked every night. Our check out time is 10am and we can extend wherever possible, but with turnover currently, it is difficult. On this occasion you vacated the room at 1:40pm (over 3 and half hours after checkout - not a few minutes), and we had done all we could to extend your time in the room but had guests moving into your room and check in time is 2pm. I do hope you understand and apologise for any ill feelings we may have caused you. You will notice from all our reviews our staff are outstanding and always go above and beyond to ensure the satisfaction of service with our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Pavilions was a lovely clean, modern hotel although parking was a bit hard but we squeezed in. Quiet and generally a nice place but the lady on reception in the morning of checkout needs to learn how to smile. Check in was a breeze with a lovely friendly very helpful young woman but checkout made me feel I was an annoyance. We checked in on Monday 17th Feb and checked out on Tues 18th Feb.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for investing your time in posting comment on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the cleanliness of our modern hotel. You did stay during a busy period as we do have ample parking onsite - February is one of the busiest months in the year in Christchurch so this would have attributed to this. Its also pleasing to hear that you noticed the friendliness of our staff on check in. I have discussed your comment with the person responsible for checking you out and can only apologise that you felt that way - they certainly are normally extremely attentive and friendly as you will see from previous comments on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
1.2 mi away
Rydges Latimer Christchurch Hotel
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Property: Pavilions Hotel
Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing