We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

If you have just arrived after a long flight, this is a perfect place to stay. It is very open and airy family owned hotel, and you get a relaxed and friendly greeting. The rooms are really clean, spacious and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was well prepared and good value. Its a really interesting place with a fascinating back-story about the owners, which is illustrated around the place and which added to the charm. It does not have any pretensions to being a posh venue, and is all the better for that and is excellent overall value. I could not disagree more with comments that it is dated - some people must be really hard to please!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. You really seemed to get our hotel and what we are trying to achieve. A perfect summary not only did acknowledge the clean comfortable surroundings, you appreciated our non-pretentious family valued focus. This helps with our very friendly staff and the attitude that comes with it. Its also great that you enjoyed our restaurant and have acknowledged the value and service.
Most of all we appreciate your feedback on the rooms not being dated - we are constantly updating our rooms and reviewing the comforts for guests and believe the quality, size and comfort of the rooms to be amongst the best.
It was our pleasure to have you as a guest - Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (707)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

521 - 527 of 707 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

I would warmly recommend this hotel in Christchurch. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good and most importantly the friendly and helpful staff ensure you have a great stay. It would be difficult to single out a staff member as they are all so great from the welcome you receive at check in, the 'bag boys',and the friendly restaurant staff, however Neve with her wonderful Irish accent and great sense of humour stands out.
I come to Christchurch regularly for work and will always try to stay at Pavilions Hotel.

Mary Smith






l

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

We really appreciate you taking the time to post feedback. We are glad you enjoy our rooms appreciate the cleanliness. Our staff certainly are the best and you will see that too by looking at the reviews just on this site alone. However I will pass your feedback onto Neve as it is always nice to be singled out as 'a stand out'.
Thank you also for appreciating our restaurant food it is also often acknowledged on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at the Pavilions for two nights from the 17th January. Dined in Jimmy's Restaurant on the 18th & the staff were professional & knowledgeable. Would describe the Lamb main dish as the best lamb ever tasted & large portion size too. The Eye Fillet was cooked nicely & the blue cheese plus red wine jus was a beautiful combination that melted in your mouth.

The accommodation rooms were very spacious & included cookng facilities if you so desired. The rooms were lovely & quiet & modern decor.

Overall I could not fault this property as it exceeded my expectations & we will definetely be returning as the staff were brillaint & made you feel welcome to the point it felt like your home away from home.

Keep up the great standards & genuine hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaNZ2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Wow, what a fantastic review its great to see you enjoyed our spacious rooms, fantastic staff and that you felt at home staying with us - it is what we try to achieve.
Nice choice in the restaurant they are also amongst my favourites. Look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

we were given a very large suite which was a pleasant surprise, room 791. The hotel is dated. They give you 20 minutes of wi if a day, after that it's $15 a day for internet. Breakfast does not come with your room rate, but there is a restaurant on premises

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Liketotravel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comment, its surprising your feedback as you will see from all of our stays particularly in the last year we have outstanding reviews. Its nice to see you enjoyed the Suite however and I do hope you choose to stay when you are next in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Pavilions first week in January, it was better than expected, excellent location with a good pub over the road. The staff were extremely helpful & friendly and our room was large & spotless. The restaurant food was delicious & good value. We would highly recommend it. L & J England & Australia

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbbbb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback. We are lucky to be located in a great area with lots of bars and restaurants around so it does provide you with good options. I am glad you noticed our cleanliness, our fantastic staff and enjoyed your dining experience. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I would definitely consider returning to Pavilions Hotel. We stayed 5 nights after Christmas and with the weather being terrible we watched 2 or 3 free in room movies most days. The pool was very small but adequate and the spa was very enjoyable. I'm not sure if other rooms had the same layout as ours, but our bathroom window wasn't frosted and looked out onto rooms right across from us so we had to try and remember to always have the blind shut (no biggie, but it got annoying over time). No major issues with cleaning, but it wasn't up to the standards I expect and what I usually experience in other hotels. I really enjoyed my meal at the restaurant, and I recommend booking as people were being turned away even though there were only a few tables taken.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nailz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your stay. I am glad you enjoyed our free movies - it does make it hard when the weather is not so nice but its great to have a warm bed and a good movie if all else fails. Our cleaning standards are extremely high and when rated by Qualmark we received top marks in this, in addition to this you will see many positive comments below on our high cleaning standards - I would be interested in the particulars around this comment so that we could investigate this, perhaps you could email me privately Debbie@pavilion.co.nz Finally our food certainly is fantastic and I am glad you also enjoyed it. It is always wise to make a booking to secure a table anywhere and when the food is good - it goes hand in hand. We normally accommodate our inhouse guests in every situation as we also have a courtyard they can dine in and perhaps those tables you could see free were already booked for others. We do hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Even though we arrived quite late, Keith at the front desk was lovely, even carrying our bags to our room. Room was clean and comfortable - the only downside for us was that our room was at the front on Papanui Road (which seemed to be a favourite haunt for hoon drivers on a Saturday night) - if we were to stay again I would request a room away from the main road.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Gecco009Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on your stay. Keith certainly is an asset to our team and it is always nice to have a friendly helpful person great you on arrival after travelling. When you next stay simply request a room not on Papanui Road - however it is not normally an issue so perhaps it was just an unusual night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $105 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing