We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is an unusually shaped hotel with the rooms/ studio apartments shaped around a central courtyard. It was an easy walk into the city from here and we found the restaurant and bar to be well worth a visit. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on Trip Advisor. The hotel is architecturally designed and does have a different shape and different shape rooms. It is a fantastic location so I am glad you also found time to enjoy our restaurant and bar. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (694)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

520 - 526 of 694 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, rooms comfortable and clean, and staff helpful.
Had room service meals for dinner which was very convenient and fairly priced.
Downside was parking tight and need to get in early in day to get a space to avoid parking on street.
2nd level rooms not good if you have heavy luggage to struggle up the stairs with.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower level away from main street away from traffic. No lifts to access 2nd level rooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrisTravellerKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed our helpful staff and clean rooms. We have a system in place here to ensure our rooms are cleaned to perfection and our housekeeping team are very proud of their results. Our meals are very nice so I am sure your room service dinner was lovely.
You must of stayed on a rare night that the carpark was full as even at full capacity we often have travellers from overseas so less cars however there is free parking onsite for at least 60 cars, however as you point out there is also ample parking on the streets surrounding still at no charge in the worst case.
We do have a porter onsite and all guests would be offered this service on check in to carry your luggage both on check in and check out so being on a second floor should not be a problem.
Thank you very much for your feedback and looking forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great staff from front desk to restaurant and bar, have stayed in numerous different rooms over a number of years and all are of a high standard, restaurant gives a limited array of meals but are of a very high standard
If your looking for a banter over a few drinks the bar staff and management are sure to encourage a light hearted but intellectual conversation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Its great to see you noticed our fantastic staff and the high standard of our meals in the restaurant. Thank you for your business, we value all our guests and regular customers are very important to us so it is good see you also enjoy our bar staff who are happy to engage with all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came to the Pavilions by default - the hotel we had been expecting to stay at had double booked, so they moved us. The Pavilions is a really nice place to stay, and the staff, especially Troy, went out of their way to make us welcome and to give us background on the changes and re-growth of Christchurch. Unfortunately we had to leave early to catch a 6am plane, but the taxi was waiting at the door for us. Next time we come here we will make a point of choosing this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tripper725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff really do like to go the extra mile and I will certainly be passing your feedback onto Troy - its nice to be recognised. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was very clean, and daily housekeeping kept it that way. The front desk staff greeted us well, and were very helpful in giving directions as well as general information. The Wi Fi worked very well, and was fast. Did start reading the book in the room about the owner's life. Interesting. We needed to check out very early to catch a 6:30 AM flight, reception took care of it. Very spacious room as well, lots of space. Very convenient location, with parking right at your door. Beds were comfortable, and room was quiet even being located on a busy street. Spa was wonderful. Will stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review. You mention all the positive things about our hotel which is fantastic - our cleanliness, staff, location, free parking, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Its also nice you mentioned the WIFI - it can often be a problem in a hotel and we have invested a lot to ensure the speed and reliability of our wifi. We look forward to you returning to stay with us when you are next in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was a pick up hotel for a tour to Queenstown. This is a family owned hotel and it shows: well maintained, friendly service. The restaurant is also good, friendly staff there also. It is a good 25 minute walk to the city center, but there are some good restaurants close by. I can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room more to the back: we stayed there twice in a row, the second time we were right next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on our hotel. Its great to see you acknowledge our hotel being a family owned hotel and can notice the difference with our maintenance and the service of our staff. Our restaurant is frequently comment on our chefs certainly do a fantastic job, I would agree. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Turned up wanting a room that was available for $150 on wotif, the receptionist matched the rate as i wanted to pay via eftpos. Awesome tidy room, spa bath, kitchenette, plenty of room, fast internet, parking at your door and good tv. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much taking time to post comment. We are glad you noticed how clean our rooms are as it is a priority here to have outstanding cleanliness. Its also great to see you enjoyed the comforts of the spa, kitchenette and noticed the size of the rooms as they are bigger than your average rooms. We have recently upgraded our internet to the fastest available in this area so its great to see it recognised also. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,064 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#34 of 146 in Christchurch
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
3.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $103 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing