We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Great staff from front desk to restaurant and bar, have stayed in numerous different rooms over a number of years and all are of a high standard, restaurant gives a limited array of meals but are of a very high standard
If your looking for a banter over a few drinks the bar staff and management are sure to encourage a light hearted but intellectual conversation

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Its great to see you noticed our fantastic staff and the high standard of our meals in the restaurant. Thank you for your business, we value all our guests and regular customers are very important to us so it is good see you also enjoy our bar staff who are happy to engage with all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (626)
There are newer reviews for Pavilions Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 626 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We came to the Pavilions by default - the hotel we had been expecting to stay at had double booked, so they moved us. The Pavilions is a really nice place to stay, and the staff, especially Troy, went out of their way to make us welcome and to give us background on the changes and re-growth of Christchurch. Unfortunately we had to leave early to catch a 6am plane, but the taxi was waiting at the door for us. Next time we come here we will make a point of choosing this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tripper725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

We were glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff really do like to go the extra mile and I will certainly be passing your feedback onto Troy - its nice to be recognised. We look forward to seeing you again when you next travel to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was very clean, and daily housekeeping kept it that way. The front desk staff greeted us well, and were very helpful in giving directions as well as general information. The Wi Fi worked very well, and was fast. Did start reading the book in the room about the owner's life. Interesting. We needed to check out very early to catch a 6:30 AM flight, reception took care of it. Very spacious room as well, lots of space. Very convenient location, with parking right at your door. Beds were comfortable, and room was quiet even being located on a busy street. Spa was wonderful. Will stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review. You mention all the positive things about our hotel which is fantastic - our cleanliness, staff, location, free parking, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Its also nice you mentioned the WIFI - it can often be a problem in a hotel and we have invested a lot to ensure the speed and reliability of our wifi. We look forward to you returning to stay with us when you are next in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was a pick up hotel for a tour to Queenstown. This is a family owned hotel and it shows: well maintained, friendly service. The restaurant is also good, friendly staff there also. It is a good 25 minute walk to the city center, but there are some good restaurants close by. I can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room more to the back: we stayed there twice in a row, the second time we were right next...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on our hotel. Its great to see you acknowledge our hotel being a family owned hotel and can notice the difference with our maintenance and the service of our staff. Our restaurant is frequently comment on our chefs certainly do a fantastic job, I would agree. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Turned up wanting a room that was available for $150 on wotif, the receptionist matched the rate as i wanted to pay via eftpos. Awesome tidy room, spa bath, kitchenette, plenty of room, fast internet, parking at your door and good tv. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much taking time to post comment. We are glad you noticed how clean our rooms are as it is a priority here to have outstanding cleanliness. Its also great to see you enjoyed the comforts of the spa, kitchenette and noticed the size of the rooms as they are bigger than your average rooms. We have recently upgraded our internet to the fastest available in this area so its great to see it recognised also. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and i came down for some unpleasant circumstances and from the moment we walked in the door we were greeted by a lovely young man by the name of Troy who made us feel very at ease showing us to our room. We had a meal at the restaurant that night where we were looked after by Chelsea and were so impressed with the quality and excellence of the food and service that Sanjay and Bibek (chefs) deserved our full compliments. The following morning we sat down to have breakfast and found two lovely young ladies Jess and Jasmine who went out of their way to make our morning an awesome one. After complimenting Graham Horncastle on the fantastic atmosphere we felt compelled to let everyone know that we would not hesitate to recommend or come and stay again. Thank you so much for your hospitality and making us feel like part of the family you truly are a 5 star team. We wish you well and will definitely return at a later date.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_n_simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review and for enjoying your stay with us as part of our family. I have certainly passed your feedback onto our staff who will be very happy to be acknowledged for their service. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A family owned hotel and we were treated like family. Service and accommadation was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. On site parking and the location was very convenient for getting to the centre of Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collumbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for posting comment it is great to see you notice our point of difference and you appreciated being part of our family. Our service we pride ourselves on and our whole team are dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. Free parking is always a luxury and we certainly are very central to shops and lots of new restaurants and bars too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,899 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
654 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
414 reviews
0.5 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 146 in Christchurch
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $84 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing