We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pavilions Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$83
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Quest Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$111
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
$220
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$114
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Motor Inn(Christchurch)
$96
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Centre Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$74
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral Motel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
$65
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellano Motel Suites(Christchurch)
$92
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At The Right Place(Christchurch)
$43
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (744)
Filter reviews
744 results
Traveler rating
317
246
117
40
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
246
117
40
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjimmy's barfamily historypapanui roadmain buildingnew zealandspa bathbuffet breakfastfantastic staycity centrethe ground floorroom was largewould stay againhagley parksouth islandgreat place to stayhome away from homebotanic gardens
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 744 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Our room was very clean, and daily housekeeping kept it that way. The front desk staff greeted us well, and were very helpful in giving directions as well as general information. The Wi Fi worked very well, and was fast. Did start reading the book in the room about the owner's life. Interesting. We needed to check out very early to catch a 6:30 AM flight, reception took care of it. Very spacious room as well, lots of space. Very convenient location, with parking right at your door. Beds were comfortable, and room was quiet even being located on a busy street. Spa was wonderful. Will stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for such a fantastic review. You mention all the positive things about our hotel which is fantastic - our cleanliness, staff, location, free parking, comfy beds and spacious rooms. Its also nice you mentioned the WIFI - it can often be a problem in a hotel and we have invested a lot to ensure the speed and reliability of our wifi. We look forward to you returning to stay with us when you are next in New Zealand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was a pick up hotel for a tour to Queenstown. This is a family owned hotel and it shows: well maintained, friendly service. The restaurant is also good, friendly staff there also. It is a good 25 minute walk to the city center, but there are some good restaurants close by. I can really recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room more to the back: we stayed there twice in a row, the second time we were right next to the entrance and there was quite some noise from the buses and other visitors. That was in room 558
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnfun4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comment on our hotel. Its great to see you acknowledge our hotel being a family owned hotel and can notice the difference with our maintenance and the service of our staff. Our restaurant is frequently comment on our chefs certainly do a fantastic job, I would agree. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Turned up wanting a room that was available for $150 on wotif, the receptionist matched the rate as i wanted to pay via eftpos. Awesome tidy room, spa bath, kitchenette, plenty of room, fast internet, parking at your door and good tv. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpayne84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you so much taking time to post comment. We are glad you noticed how clean our rooms are as it is a priority here to have outstanding cleanliness. Its also great to see you enjoyed the comforts of the spa, kitchenette and noticed the size of the rooms as they are bigger than your average rooms. We have recently upgraded our internet to the fastest available in this area so its great to see it recognised also. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

My wife and i came down for some unpleasant circumstances and from the moment we walked in the door we were greeted by a lovely young man by the name of Troy who made us feel very at ease showing us to our room. We had a meal at the restaurant that night where we were looked after by Chelsea and were so impressed with the quality and excellence of the food and service that Sanjay and Bibek (chefs) deserved our full compliments. The following morning we sat down to have breakfast and found two lovely young ladies Jess and Jasmine who went out of their way to make our morning an awesome one. After complimenting Graham Horncastle on the fantastic atmosphere we felt compelled to let everyone know that we would not hesitate to recommend or come and stay again. Thank you so much for your hospitality and making us feel like part of the family you truly are a 5 star team. We wish you well and will definitely return at a later date.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_n_simone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Thank you for posting such a fantastic review and for enjoying your stay with us as part of our family. I have certainly passed your feedback onto our staff who will be very happy to be acknowledged for their service. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

A family owned hotel and we were treated like family. Service and accommadation was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble. On site parking and the location was very convenient for getting to the centre of Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Collumbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you so much for posting comment it is great to see you notice our point of difference and you appreciated being part of our family. Our service we pride ourselves on and our whole team are dedicated to making your stay enjoyable. Free parking is always a luxury and we certainly are very central to shops and lots of new restaurants and bars too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews