We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location.good apartment”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We just stayed here for 1 night, 3 of us so we booked a family apartment, it was the finest, clean,good size rooms, good bath etc. we didnt have food or use any other facilities here, but would happily recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Padraig O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Our standards for housekeeping are very high and we have many checks in place to ensure that this is continuous throughout the property, it is great that you have recognised this and housekeeping team will be very happy to hear. Thanks for the recommendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 667 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just had two nights at the Pavilions hotel. Rooms were very clean and tidy and appropriate. It felt more like an upgraded motel rather than hotel. Two storey and if you don't like stairs then ask for ground floor room as no lift but staff very willing to carry bags. Our bathroom was very small and the door took up a lot of room. Breakfast was good and a good choice on offer either a continental buffet or a la carte. Staff were all very friendly and well trained. The professional photos show a pool that is large its a large plunge pool but other photos are true to form
No complaints at all about this property and would recommend

Room Tip: if you don't like stairs then ask fro ground floor room this property is 2 storey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post comment. I am glad that you enjoyed and recognised our cleanliness, we have high standards here and our housekeeping team are some of the best.
It is also pleasing to note that you recognised our friendly and very professional staff it is a luxury we are proud to have. We have had comments on the pool photos and well we understand that advertising should be at its best we have tried to portray a reality of the pool, it is indeed a plunge pool.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Totally overrated... Booked a Deluxe double apartment and this was not as pictured at all. Very tired paint work, dim lighting, no wardrobe in main bedroom. Bathroom needs major updating, peeling tops and a bottle opener you could use sitting on the toilet???
Our glasses were dirty....fridge wobbly...huge gap in the front door....(i know there has been an earthquake two years ago) just needs draft strip...
Someone elses breakfast left outside most of the day..and our friends who had the single beds said their feet hung over as the were small singles..
Totally disappointed.
P>S> Do not need to read about the owner life in the book left in the room. Maybe he needs to spend more funds on his hotel and not the luxury canal home in Australia or the losses in the Casino.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sensational18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken note of some of your comments and made sure they have been addressed including installing a wardrobe in the main bedroom and replacing the vanity. We are also in the process of upgrading the bathrooms throughout the hotel.
I can only apologise for your glasses our cleanliness here is of a high standard, our checks are thorough as you would see by the numerous positive comments on our cleanliness on this site.
We have also taken note of the draft strip and will address this issue.
I am also extremely surprised regarding your breakfast tray as we have so many staff checking for this kind of thing to ensure our hotel is well presented at all times, we have discussed this incident with housekeeping.
With regards to the book on the owners life I am sorry the book was not for you - most guests enjoy the read.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The reception staff at the Pavillions Hotel were very efficient and friendly. I arrived late on a cold, wet night after a trip south from Blenheim. It was nice to be introduced to my room to find that the heater had been turned on in advance of my arrival so my room was already warm.
Due to my late arrival and one night stopover the only experience I had with the in house restaurant was breakfast which was fine.
The rooms are more like two storied motel units. They are not modern nor luxurious. My unit was clean, spacious and warm. There seemed to be adequate on site parking and I noted a fair selection of restaurant options in the neighbourhood. And it is fairly easy access to the airport.
If you don't need to stay at "top end" hotels and satisfied with good down to earth accommodation then the Pavillions will satisfy your needs. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwis-two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your post here on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our friendly staff seem to be a big feature and it is something that we are very proud of. Our rooms certainly are more spacious that the average hotel room and we do pride ourselves on cleanliness with many checking routines and inspections in place. Ease of parking and location to other restaurants and bars is a fantastic feature and we look forward to you staying again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our family has stayed on various occasions and have found the staff extremely friendly and helpful, always willing to help.. comfortable, spacious warm rooms, great location close to all amenities.. food was amazing!!! A++++ Awesome family based Hotel, totally recommend and look forward to our return

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post comment on your stay with us. Its pleasing to see comments on our staff we have so many positive comments time after time and it is the service that makes your stay. Our food certainly is fantastic I can vouch for that since I also eat here around 3 times a week. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights, while I worked. The stay began with an extremely friendly guy helping us with our heavy suitcase; we later learned he was also the barman and after-hours cook. This set the tone for the visit: The staff were stupendous--the breakfast "girls" very friendly, whoever was behind the bar always giving us buckets of ice.... The reception staff were efficient but not as amiable as the rest of the staff. Perhaps they were being professional.
My wife read the whole of Horncastle's Suitcase, the self-published book by Graeme about his family--the family that owns the hotel. We got the sense this was a family-owned establishment by the personality of the people here. Yet the level of professionalism was excellent.
Breakfast was very good, although expensive for the full buffet--as everything in New Zealand appears to be costly. On the weekend, you have to wait for a while for the farmer's breakfast, but it's great. And the service, as I've already mentioned, is amazing.
One complaint is that the lighting in the rooms is revolting-- tiny halogen lamps at the bedside or the overhead (dimmable) spotlights. Very difficult to read by. And the table is only about 24 inches square, which isn't enough for business travelers. It often took forever for the hot water to come through. But the place has lots of windows--glass everywhere--and plenty of parking. Remember that Papanui Road is very busy on weekday mornings.
Altogether, for a mid-range hotel, this place is perfect.

Room Tip: Can't erase the spa rating. Have no idea if they even have one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your stay with us. I am glad you enjoyed the warm family friendly atmosphere of our hotel and noticed our fantastic staff. Sorry the lighting did not suit you, I guess it is different for each person. I am also glad you enjoyed your breakfast and look forward to seeing you again in the future should you return to Christchurch.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were amazed at the treatment we received. The staff treated us like we were old family friends and always had a smile for us. The rooms were really good, and very warm considering it was snowing. The restaurant were very accommodating. We didn't have a booking but the seated us anyway and the food was fantastic. Overall, the whole stay was wonderful. Thanks to the staff for treating us like old mates.

Room Tip: Ask for the exec spa room - they're awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manager_SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Thank you for posting such fantastic feedback on your stay. You were very lucky to have been in Christchurch whilst it was snowing - it is so pretty isn't it. We appreciate the comments you have made on our staff and I will certainly be passing this on it is great that you felt so welcome here. It was also nice to hear that you were very impressed with our restaurant meals as this seems to be very consistent with all of our guests, we may have just the perfect chefs. We look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,024 reviews
1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#30 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
1 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#15 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $86 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing