We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place, outdated”
Review of Pavilions Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pavilions Hotel
Ranked #13 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a very odd hotel, and maybe at one time was very nice. But almost every thing is outdated. If Red Roof Inn had an extended stay brand, it would probably look like this. There was a single heating unit for the whole apartment (two bedroom) and the thermostat did not work. So there was a separate portable oil based radiator to augment it. Of course the staff was perfectly friendly, although the front desk looked more like the nursing station at a public hospital. We didn't try the restaurant. I think if the earthquake hadn't taken out so much of the city center, this hotel would be in trouble. We felt a huge compassion for the people of Christchurch as they are trying to recover from such a terrible disaster, but we hope the owner of this place will take a little pride in the product they offer. The worst? The internet. Charging a rediculous price, and only one device can connect at a time. It was cheaper to pay 3G data roaming charges to my US carrier. And faster.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tdkrause
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Firstly I am glad to hear that you were happy with our friendly staff, we do strive to make your stay enjoyable.

It is additionally nice to hear the compassion you feel for what the people of Christchurch have endured and all we have experienced. We have stayed open for the duration of all of these events and housed many of police, emergency workers and people here to help the city of Christchurch. Our staff and we as the owners of the hotel have experienced working conditions over the past few years that you would never expect to encounter in a lifetime and appreciation of this in your feedback for the people of Christchurch is grateful.

While we continue to struggle with insurance issues we will be ensuring that our hotel is maintained to the best of our ability and comfort level to our guests. Unfortunately, we currently cannot do any refurbishments due to ongoing insurance resolutions.

With regards to the internet I commented previously on this below, perhaps you did not understand our policy clearly as unless you were using this 24 hours and downloading for the entire 24 hours the cost is low and on par with other hotels around the world. We will discuss the delivery of our internet service with the reception staff so customers are clear on costs for this in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (655)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 655 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

We got this hotel with our deal at Zuji. In my opinion, this is not a 4 star hotel by any means. Its quite old, the air conditioning is old and the bathroom gets cold for NZ winter. Not many cosmetic products on offer in the bathroom.

The worst I thought was that WIFI is charged. Not only is it charged it is charged at ridiculous rates. Even backpackers hostels give away wifi for free these days. If you want to stay connected to the world without emptying your pockets, don't go for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManishSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

We appreciate receiving feedback on the hotel. Firstly can we just mention we do not have air conditioning so I am unsure why you would mention this was a problem. I myself travel regularly also and have found it quite normal to pay WIFI charges anywhere in the world. Our charges are within what we would expect to pay. I am wondering if you had a full understanding of how the charges work as you only need to purchase for the amount of time you are actually on the internet so unless you are on the internet 24 hours a day doing downloads during your stay the charge is extremely minimal. Our rooms provide cosmetic basics including; soap, shampoo, conditioner and tissues. If there are additional requirements we do have them available at reception. It is disappointing we didn't know of this during your stay and we could of addressed this for you immediatley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is a top class hotel, I have stayed there many times and had meals at the restaurant on many occasions. The rooms are tidy, nice and clean and the staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Jimmys bar is great for a chat and a drink and the food is amazing! I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone and throughly enjoy my stay every time!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad you enjoy your stay with us. You must come in and check out the new menu, it has some all time famous NZ dishes like Venison Pie and a new version of the Akaroa Salmon...there's more too:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel is very dated and run down. The room had paint drops down the walls. The place is fulllog glass both sides which makes them very cold (Christchurch gets cold on winter!). The heater is so noisy there is no way you can have it on at night. You feet almost freeze to the bathroom tiles. The door has massive gaps perfect for directing cold air onto the bed (see photo). There are better places to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaoct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

We are currently in the process of painting some of our rooms, your room did happen to be one of these. Unfortunatley due to the weather here when the rooms are freshly painted it does create a slight amount of temporary condensation which may look as though it is paint not dry. Note that we are no longer painting rooms at the moment (due to the weather), but do continue to upgrade our rooms as part of our ongoing maintenance program so we will take your feedback on board in future developments. In addition to this there are silent oil heaters available at our reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The room was booked through the tour operators. The hotel is located on the edge of the Hagley Gardens and walking distance to the botanical gardens and the museum.
We enjoyed the spa, which was in a small-enclosed area by the reception area.
The room was basic, clean and with the usual facilities. The bathroom was large with a shower over the bath.
Coming out of the hotel and turning right would lead you to a small shopping area of Merrivale.
We could not dine in the hotel restaurant due to tour party, but found a couple of restaurants on the left of the hotel. The one we dined in allowed you to take your own wine, which could be purchased right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chander_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your accommodation here with us. I am glad you got to enjoy the central location of our hotel and some of our facilities. We apologise that we were unable to seat you in our restaurant that evening as our meals are fantastic so I do hope that you are able to dine with us next time you are here. We very rarely have tours through the hotel at this time of year and even still are normally able to cater for our inhouse guests, so I am sorry you encountered an unusual night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We arrived very tired and hungry after the long flight but the warm receptionists and staff made us feel very welcome and at home. Room was on the ground floor with parking right outside made it very easy for us to get the luggage in. The room itself was nice and clean with every facility you could ask for (kitchen with fridge, sink etc, tv, sofa, nice comfy bed, long mirrors, iron & ironing board, bath, power shower, toilet etc etc). We also ate in the restaurant and food was first class, cooked perfectly with good quality ingredients. The waitresses were spot on and very well presented. We would defiantly recommend this hotel to fiends and family and would not hesitate to book again next time we visit NZ.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan and Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Congratulations on your wedding, I am glad that we made your first night of stay a welcome and comfortable one and do hope that you enjoyed your Honeymoon in New Zealand. Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends we appreciate the business and hope that we get to see you next time you are back this way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Overall great hotel. The receptionist Hannah certainly made an impression, she was extremely friendly and attentive and really brightened up our morning! It is nice to interact with such lovely staff on the reception.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horncastle, General Manager at Pavilions Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is a pleasure to have great staff here who really value your stay and I will certainly be passing on your post to Hannah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.0 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,994 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1.0 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#35 of 146 in Christchurch
943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#16 of 146 in Christchurch
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pavilions Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pavilions Hotel

Address: 42 Papanui Road, Christchurch 8014, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#19 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#22 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#25 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: $89 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pavilions Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pavilions Hotel is conveniently located near the central city. We have 86 beautifully designed and appointed guest rooms and we can provide rooms with full kitchen, spa bath and disabled facilities. Just 7 km from the airport and 2 minutes from Hagley Park, it makes golfing and our famous Botanical Gardens just outside our doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pavilions Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Christchurch
Christchurch Quality Inn
Pavilions Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing