We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place can save budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Central Motel Apartments
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Quite a good place. Now the owner is the Chinese. They kindly upgraded my bookings. With all furniture and cooking Kitchenware, everything is easy.

Room is clean and large space. quite close to city center. Easy to book shuttle to airport.
There are many restaurants available. Subway and several nice restaurants in streets not far away

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John-Tsao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was nice, we had a two bedroom apartment here, which was very nice and well equipped, we used the hotel BBQ one night while we were there, also we used the hotel launderette, and the owner was very helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnglandRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a standard hotel that is very clean, centrally located and reasonably priced. The desk staff are pleasant and helpful. It's within walking distance (only a few blocks) to Cathedral Square, the white-chair memorial, and the new cardboard-tube cathedral.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NEWYORKPROF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here on Sat 25th and Sun 26th May 2013. They are really close to the city and you could easily walk there (we did have a car though).
Rooms are clean, tidy and well presented. Really well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and sky tv. A
Peter the mananger was extremely helpful and had good advice for what to do while there.
Only thing was we did leave two new boxes of coffees in the room (the sachet kind) and unfortunatley the cleaners must have swipped them when we left as I rang to ask to have them posted the next day and apparently they weren't there so make sure you do check your room carefully and don't leave anything behind!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived from Australia at 1am and our room was unlocked, ready for us to fall into bed. We had been upgraded at no extra charge to 2 apartments with adjoining door - which was fabulous for 3 adults. Next morning milk was provided and lots of help given so we could find our way to get our hire car. Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Definitely recommend this motel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leonemoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed in the Superior Studio in City Central for a couple of nights and we really enjoyed our time here.

The room was clean and extremely spacious! There is a small pantry area that comes equipped with basic cooking tools - microwave, pot, utensils, electric flask. The toilet was spacious as well and it comes with a heater. There is a double and single bed, dinning table and chairs, a double and single sofa. The single bed had a rather deep depression which made it a little disruptive to rest on but the sleep quality overall was good. There is cable in the room and a collection of DVDs and books located in the office for rental.

The owner was fantastically friendly and went out of his way to help us on numerous occasions even though the office had closed for the night. Upon checking in, he provided us with a map of the city central and marked out the red zone that has been closed. He also suggested a couple of food establishments near the motel for our hungry stomachs. Great guy and we really enjoyed our interactions with him.

There is a subway that is located right behind the motel and that was great for when we needed a quick bite.

Room Tip: Request for a room on the ground floor if you are travelling with big luggage as we had to haul ours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a very belated review as we stayed here for one night in Jan 2011 at the start of a three week holiday in New Zealand, but the proforma will not allow that date to be entered now and I forgot to send in a review after our trip was over. The motel was an ideal start to our trip and the owner was helpful and friendly. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, and we had all that we needed; and we are very glad that it survived the terrible earthquake the following month. (At the time we were in Christchurch we were surprised at how much visible damage there still was after the September 2010 earthquake - little did we know what was to come a couple of weeks after we left New Zealand.)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sumaralja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
Ramada Suites Christchurch City
#29 of 146 in Christchurch
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#25 of 146 in Christchurch
2,106 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Christchurch
Quest Christchurch
#15 of 146 in Christchurch
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Christchurch
Ibis Christchurch
#33 of 146 in Christchurch
947 reviews
0.8 mi away
City Centre Motel
City Centre Motel
#26 of 146 in Christchurch
394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#8 of 140 in Christchurch
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Central Motel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Central Motel Apartments

Address: 252 Barbadoes Street | Christchurch Central, Christchurch 8011, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $85 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Central Motel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 26 stylish, self contained and well appointed quality apartments catering for the corporate traveler, couples and families.City Central Motel Apartments are within 5-7 mins walk of local attractions and the Central Business District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Central Motel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Motel Apartments Hotel Christchurch
City Central Hotel Apartments
City Central Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing