We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for Air Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ideal for Air Travellers”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

Stayed one night on arrival in NZ. Ideally located close to airport but in quiet location. Given a room in main building it was very well appointed and spacious. With thick carpets in corridors it has addressed possible noise problems of guests arriving or leaving at odd hours. I had a good nights sleep. Only negative was the lamb shank I ordered for dinner - tough as an old boot!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GravyMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    384
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
323
560
75
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We picked this hotel as it was close to the airport and we wanted to recover from the travel from London before our tour of New Zealand. We booked a business level room which was immaculate and in a separate block at the back of the hotel. The room had everything in it we could need and was very spacious with a balcony for fresh air which was very welcome after our flights. The staff were very friendly and efficient from when they picked us up at the airport until we left. We arrived on Christmas Day and had dinner in the restaurant that night. We were made to feel very welcome by the staff in the restaurant and even though they were having to work Christmas they made our experience really enjoyable and the food was very good. Hotel also has a very nice pool with a jet to swim against for exercise.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dickendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

This hotel is about 5minutes from the airport. Smooth checkin, clean room, well appointed. Quiet. If you want to eat dinner outside the hotel, the restaurants in the city center are about 15 minutes away. Nothing close.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia / Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

I'm pretty fussy when it comes to accommodation but i couldn't fault this hotel. We booked a very reasonably priced Business Level room which was spotless and the king bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in for the duration of our South Island trip. The bar staff were very welcoming and the atmosphere in the bar and restaurant was relaxing and fun. The price of the food was surprisingly reasonable and of a decent size. I was impressed with the complimentary drink voucher offered on arrival, and the free shuttle bus to and from the airport and to nearby restaurants. Being a cat lover I will always fondly remember the very handsome Ken, the resident Siamese/Burmese cat. He rules the roost but keeps out of the way if you're not a cat person. He has a Facebook page as well - I miss him already! Definately recommend this hotel, especially if you have an early flight.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaterMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We have stayed at this hotel quite a number of times & will do so again & again & again.
On our last visit we took our 4 week old & 3yr old & were worried it could be a problem. We couldnt be more wrong. Every staff member we dealt with went above & beyond what we expected every single time.
The restaurant meal was faultless. We eat out reguarly & this is by far one of the best meals I have ever had.
The rooms are spotless & either new or newly refurbished.
The indoor pool is huge & never busy with plenty of clean towels if needed.
The whole atmosphere is totally relaxing.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank The_Smitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2009

We stay at the Commodore twice a year when visiting family and friends. In particular we appreciate the excellent service, friendly staff and cleanliness. As a family-run hotel there's always somone on hand who has a keen interest in sustaining their reputation. We now choose an Executive room, though all are well equipped and very comfortable. Some people may prefer a city centre hotel, but we find their free bus tickets into town adequate for our needs. The Commodore is well situated for the airport and the outer ring road. Our repeat visits say it all!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunhatNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

We booked a Business Class plus room, having decided to splash out for the last day of our holiday in NZ before returning to the UK. The room and buffet breakfast cost us just £100. The room was clean, the bed extremely comfortable and the bathroom facilities superb. I would have expected to pay twice the price for similar luxury in the UK. Swimming pool and Gym were available, as was a free bus pass into the city centre. The hotel provides a free shuttle to the airport with polite and helpful service from the driver.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carpalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing