We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at The Copthorne Hotel on our recent visit to NZ. We arrived at 12:30am at the airport and they provided us with a free shuttle service. We were greeted by a friendly staff member that was only to happy to provide us with this fantastic service. The staff could not do enough for us. They were all very friendly, accommodating and happy to always help. The Room was very clean and very comfortable, one of the best hotel beds that we have slept in. We would highly recommend staying at the Copthrone Hotel Commodore Christchurch.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank kasiakevnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

17 years ago I started traveling to Christchurch. After a process of elimination the Copthorne (Commodore) became the place to stay. Close to airport but not noisy. Free pickup and return from airport, great rooms that are updated regularly, great staff and food. Free Wifi, gym, pool. Not even an earthquake could shake its service. Is on main bus route into city with stop just out the front.

Room Tip: Level 3 for business people. Free WiFi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_B_Simons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

A nice old school country style hotel with on demand shuttle service to and from the airport just 2 minutes away. It's also just 15 minutes drive to the CBD that's being rebuilt.
Hotel also has very comfy bedding, super friendly staff and a great bar.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
Thank jf841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

The staff at the Copthorne Hotel Commodore took great care of us at our recent conference. When our connecting flights to Christchurch were cancelled/postponed the staff set out all our information for us so that we could hit the ground running when we did arrive the next morning ... and they didn't charge for our rooms the night we couldn't get there.The food was lovely,catering ran very smoothly and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Sharon S,
Thank you for holding your Conference with us, I am pleased to hear that it went so well.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I have been meaning to write a review for this hotel. I stayed here in March 2014. I wanted to find a hotel close to the airport as I had a long flight from Ireland-Vancouver-Christchurch. I stayed in a corporate room on the ground floor which was expensive but excellent. The beds were very comfortable, I liked the office space with wifi and they offered sky sports which was great when the rugby was on. Room service was good and staff were very friendly. I was a solo traveller and I must thank the manager Michael for his kindness in offering advice and generally pointing me in the right direction and went out of his way to make sure I enjoyed christchurch and even threw in the history of the place. The pick up from the airport was excellent as well. A family run hotel and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Go for a corporate room on the ground floor for space and wifi. Good deals on booking sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

The Commodore seems to go from strength to strength. Our room was excellent and the Front desk staff were as helpful and welcoming as ever. Patterson's had a lively bar atmosphere while the food in the restaurant was of the usual very good quality. We met friends there and the super sociable vibe made for sparkling conversation and a fun evening ! The transfer back to the Airport was, pleasingly, a de luxe experience in the new van. The driver was incredibly polite and hepful. This young man's professionalism along with all the positive experiences listed above ensures that we will be back when we are next in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Try the comfortable Kowhai Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Whenever I am in Christchurch, I always stay at the Commodore. The staff always have a smile on their face and are always polite and helpful, no matter what your request or question.

The accommodation is comfortable and warm, especially in the winter months.

The gym and pool are wonderful. I love coming back after a long days work and hitting the spa and pool.

Convent location to the airport and Into the city.

Great place to stay for work

Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Cathy_OConnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,949 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
649 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $142 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing