We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

A very large and spacious room with what looks like a super king bed is just what you need when you arrive around midnight. Very clean, extremely comfortable and a large selection of teas and plunger coffee. I do find that the heating is a bit too hot and I always need to turn it down, not that it's a bad thing. The reception gives out a bus pass valid for 2 hours which is enough time to go into town if needed. Staff friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Textbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    386
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
324
563
76
301
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Continues to set the standard in Christchurch, fantastic service and great food. From the moment I arrived, I was treated like family, super friendly and made my visit amazing. Highly recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Request the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qualitycontroller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was the third time I have stayed at the Commodore Copthorne and each time I mean to write a review as I always come away a happy guest. All of the staff are incredibly helpful and bend over backwards to help. The rooms are clean, modern and I love the attention to detail.... great to see a hotel set up rooms to encourage recycling. Hopefully I will be able to stay for leisure some time and enjoy the facilities of the hotel. Thanks to the Commodore Copthorne team for another great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sonya498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Sonya,
Thank you so much for staying with us, we are so pleased that you enjoy the Commodore. It is good to hear that you appreciate the Recycling initiatives too.
When you do stay for leisure, be sure and pick up a complimentary Bus Pass for the “Mighty 29er” which runs every 30 minutes to the city.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

On arriving into Christchurch airport we called the hotel for the free transfer. Within minutes the minibus arrived. The great service that continued for our stay started at that point. Think our driver was call Elliott. He was so polite and helped us many times during our stay. Along with Sam. We used the gym, it was perfect for our needs. The room was a great size, exceptionally clean. We had dinner in the restaurant. Again great service, pleasant atmosphere. I was disappointed not to be offered a children's menu for my 10 year old and the food was good, but the menu was a little over ambitious for the chefs skills. That really is my only criticism of my stay. We had booked to stay at the hotel again at the end of our stay in the South Island. The hotel took us again in the courtesy bus to pick up our campervan. They kept our cases for us while we traveled in the van too. It was a perfect start to our time in the South Island. Thank you too all the team there.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank LittleMissHolidayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Little Miss
Thank you for bothering to write a comment.
Elliot and Sam have both been recognized because of your commendation.
I am pleased you got to use the gym.
We have talked over the comment on not being offered the kids menu with the restaurant staff.
Be sure and come back to Christchurch again soon, there is even more to see in our “ever changing” city.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Here on business. The service was fantastic. My room was very comfortable and clean. I attended a two day conference held at the motel and the food and service to the conference was awesome. Thanks to the porters for their curtesy and willingness to go the extra mile to carry my bags and make checking in and out a breeze. I look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxxxH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Maxine,
Thank you for staying at the Commodore and then taking the time to comment on your stay.
I am pleased that your Conference went so well.
Our Portering team do a good job, good to hear that you though so as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This is our 4th visit and it's another very enjoyable stay.The rooms are well presented with very comfy beds.Friendly,helpful staff.With an early flight, being so close to the airport makes travel hassle free.I highly recommend this Hotel and will return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Becker,
Thank you for your continued support of “The Commodore”. Great to hear that you enjoy our beds, in fact we sell at least one bed per month to our regular guests, should you be interested in a bed for home ask for either myself or my brother Thomas so we can tell you more.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night on arrival and one on departure. Both stays were comfortable with clean facilities and friendly staff. Free shuttle to and from airport. The bar is cozy. We wanted to eat where the locals dine and the hotel not only recommend a great restaurant but offered us a free shuttle ride to and from. Now that's customer service!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotaryGal53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMPatterson, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Rotary Gal,
Thank you for staying with us, and then commenting on your stay.
I note that you found the bar to be cozy, I appreciated this comment as we recently installed a fire and some new furniture.
Yours sincerely
Michael Patterson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,847 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 145 in Christchurch
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 145 in Christchurch
1,329 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing