We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 11, 2014

this copthorne is a franchise from the chain and definitely steps up the mark compared to other copthornes!

I was checked in by lovely staff on both my stays and offered help to the room

Rooms are very spacious and allow plenty of room for luggage and extras

wokeup 1 morning to horrific construction noise but reception staff were all to happy to help and moved me to a different block right away (MUCH appreciated!)

Dined in restaurant both of my trips and neither disappointed! except for the liquorice ice cream...that was all kinds of wrong....lol

free WIFI is a bonus, would def reccomend!

Room Tip: ask to be in the new wing if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_little_asian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Dear a_little_asian,

Thank you for your recent review of the Commodore, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

It was pleasing to hear that you found the room spacious and our team looked after you well.

The Liquorice Ice cream certainly gets attention! Yes not sure it will make the next menu.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore.

Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,505 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Arriving late in the night, airport shuttle was convenient and service excellent. On arriving at hotel, staff we're expecting us and customer service/reception/porters were pleasant and informative.
We also stayed there the say before our departure. Parking was free and porters were friendly. Reception was efficient.
The rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet.
If you have a car, the trip into Christchurch was easy and took around 10-15 mins.
This hotel is convenient location and good quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KandD4061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear KandD4061,

Thank you for posting your review on your recent stay at the Commodore.

We were delighted to hear that you found the service was excellent from our team and the location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The shuttle service was great and staff very friendly and helpful. We stayed overnight on business premium room, the room was great with great bed and we had great sleep but the food that we had was below average for such a great hotel. What a pity !

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GiJane01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear GiJane01,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Commodore.

It was pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your Business level room and had a great sleep.

We were sorry to hear that the food did not live up to expectations.

We look forward to seeing you back at the Commodore next time you are overnighting in our great city.

Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

After arriving in Christchurch at midnight we were picked up by the hotel shuttle bus and at the hotel in minutes. Reception staff were pleasant and friendly and we were in our executive king room very quick. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom very modern. The only thing missing in the shower was somewhere to put the soap (a very minor thing). Definitely recommend to anyone wanting to stay near the airport. Definitely not noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Dianne B,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and the positive feedback.

It was pleasing to hear that our team had you to the hotel promptly after your late arrival.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore.

Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

From the free airport pick up where the driver knew my name, to being helped with my bags to my room and having a call back to say which room my workshop was in the next day to the comfortable room I could not fault this hotel. Only vague issue was a droopy bed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skier2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Skier2874,
Thank you for your positive comments on the service and comfort here at the Commodore. I was sorry to hear that the bed felt droopy. If I was able to get the details of which room you stayed in we will inspect the bed and look at getting the bed replaced, I can be reached on thomaspatterson@commodore.net.nz. We are very proud of our beds and in fact we had a trial programme where our guests selected the bed we use today.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore.
Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed in an executive king room which had been recently renovated. The only complaint we have is that the breakfast was very expensive and not up to standard, particularly given the price. A few minor issues like the safe was not working but as we were only staying for one night that wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LandyRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear Habana195,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Commodore, it was pleasing to hear you liked the hotel and found our team to be friendly.

If you would like to discuss your Breakfast experience I would welcome your feedback. thomaspatterson@commodorehotel.co.nz

We look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Christchurch.

Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Overall I found this place to be of a very good standard. The room I stayed in (superior room) was very large which was great. This place is close to the airport meaning it is a little way out of town, but the hotel does provide free bikes and transport into town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wlgNZ320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichaelPattersonGM, General Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Dear HallBA,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and your positive feedback. As you mentioned our rooms are generous in size with most of them being around 36sqm. You also mentioned our fleet of hotel bicycles which we have recently renewed, it sure is a great way of getting around Christchurch!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Commodore.

Kind regards
Thomas Patterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,064 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,423 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $131 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing