We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Airport and nice restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Close to Airport and nice restaurant”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Really close to airport and there is a nice restaurant here .The rooms were a little hard to get warm and they were a little small but everything was fine apart from that. We arrived at a crazy time and the reception satff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaeljane, Front Office Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor.

It is pleasing that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We are concerned that you found it difficult to heat your room. and would appreciate it if you could advise us of the room number concerned Our efficient central heating is regularly maintained and any failure is concerning. I will ask our maintenance team to ensure that all of our rooms are functioning correctly.

We look forward to being able to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    377
    69
    7
    6
See reviews for
317
542
75
281
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were placed in a the new part of the hotel and the room was nice and had everything we needed. The service was excellent and it was great to have the opportunity to use the free bikes that were on offer to cycle round the city. The only niggle was that I thought the bikes needed to be serviced (some of them needed a little work).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We decided to pay a little more for a room on the business level for two nights. I haven't seen the other rooms so cannot compare but we were not disappointed. Very spacious room with comfortable King bed (surprising how difficult it is to find a decent King bed in NZ). Beautiful bathroom with large bath tub to soak in. Great to have large doors opening out onto a small balcony which overlooked a garden - very quiet and private and fresh air is something I miss when staying in hotels. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The bar and dining area are quite small and rather ordinary. We had a couple of drinks in the bar on both evenings and ate at the restaurant on the first night. We weren't impressed with the wine available by the glass so appreciated them allowing us to order a good wine by the glass normally only sold by the bottle. The salads we ordered were both very good and we should have stopped there but decided to order dessert. Not a great choice on dessert menu and some rather odd combinations. Must have had one wine too many - my advice, don't feel tempted to be adventurous - I don't know what we were thinking ordering deep-fried liquorice ice-cream or chocolate log with peppermint choc chip ice-cream! Dreadful (but very amusing)! Don't go there! Breakfast buffet in the mornings was pretty good.

Handy location near airport and it didn't take too long to drive into the city centre. All in all, we enjoyed our stay here and would return and recommend to others when in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a King room on the Business Level if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The 24 hour check in is quite convenient as our flight didn't arrive until 11:30pm. It is just a short drive up the road from the airport. I thought it was a bit overpriced for what it was however. When we went to check out they didn't have our room service charge on the bill, which wasn't very much, so the staff member said not to worry about it as they had forgotten to put it to our room, it was on the house. However several days later they found it and charged it anyway. A bit unprofessional I thought. The rooms are clean with 2 double beds so if you want to sleep in the same bed it is a bit small. It is convenient if you are travelling first thing the next day as it is close to the highways so you miss the Christchurch traffic.

Some one was knocking on our door at 9:30am in the morning. With the time difference and the late check in it was quite annoying when you are still asleep. I think they had the wrong room.

Room Tip: If you are a couple make sure you ask for at least a Queen size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Was upgraded to a suite on arrival. Stunning room. Very happy. Concerned about noise of the airport nearby but was not an issue at all. If anything the room was a little too big for me. The bed was great and really comfortable. I didn't use any of the hotels facilities so can't comment further.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bravo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temuka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Would have to be the top place to stay in Christchurch. Great location, plenty of parking, close to airport, friendly and helpful staff, free shuttle to airport, nice modern rooms, along with a excellent restaurant.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms, are very good. Our room was ideal for our family, as it had a family set up.Two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Level Contributor
692 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July. The hotel rooms are very tired but not too many options in the city. Although the rooms are large. The hotel has just opened twenty new units at the rear of the hotel. The staff really do try hard to please. The dining area is quite small so at times could be necessary to book a table for dinner. Even though have stayed here a few times, the Wi-Fi can be difficult to connect to. The dessert menu could do with a spruce up with items like deep fried liquorice ice cream, although the rest of the menu is more than adequate.

Room Tip: The hotel has just built 20 new units, so possibly try and get one of these when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesmdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaeljane, Front Office Manager at Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Hot water is an important part of any hotel experience and I apologise that we did not meet you expectations on this occasion. I am pleased to be able to advise however that the hot water issue you experienced was the result of a mechanical failure that has since been repaired.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
591 reviews
4.7 mi away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.3 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing