We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Wongaling Beach, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent!!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everything about this hotel was excellent. We arrived late at night and the shuttle bus collected us from the airport, we only had to wait a couple of minutes. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite and the room was beautiful, clean and very quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We stayed for breakfast in the morning and all the food was lovely (and great coffee!).
We were that happy with our whole experience that we booked again for our last nights stay in Christchurch. We also ate at the restaurant and the food was delicious and again the service was excellent. If and when we are back in Christchurch we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    384
    70
    8
    6
See reviews for
320
558
75
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Beach
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Being our first trip to Christchurch, and arriving late we wanted to stay near the airport, so I chose The Commodore. The staff were exceptionally polite and helpful and nothing was too much to ask. We had an upgrade to an executive suite and our room did not disappoint! The room was one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever seen and so quiet at night you can get a great nights sleep. The hotel was undergoing renovations to the restaurant (new carpet) but this did not interfere with our stay at all. Upon returning to Christchurch after our travels, we had no hesitation in booking the Commodore again. We had a standard room this time, but again the room was immaculately clean and tidy. An absolute pleasure. Nothing is too much for these guys - I would highly recommend to anyone considering staying here!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kezzh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is an outstanding hotel and I believe the only privately owned Copthorne franchise in NZ.
The hotel is clean ,well appointed rooms ,excellent restaurant and a wonderful whiskey range in the bar. What makes this hotel special and different is the quality of the staff. As a whole,they are young,friendly,positive,engaging and an outstanding credit to the hotel .
You won't be disappointed at this hotel and their equally fine restaurant

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We always stay at this hotel on our trips down the South Island
The business executive rooms are outstanding
We left our ipad charger in the room and were emailed to let us know and then it was couriered down to Queenstown to us at no charge that is service above and beyond
We enjoyed a hearty dinner in the Restaurant and wholesome breakfast the next day before we headded south
This is our hotel of choice and will continue to stay here when in Christchurch

Room Tip: Executive business rooms are very good value and in the newer part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Mum and dad needed to get away for a night (driveway repairs). The staff were a delight. They made mum and dad feel so welcome. A beautiful setting. Clean and smart rooms and good value meal at the restaurant. I was so pleased with the way they were looked after. Thanks Commodore.

Simon E

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here overnight while flying through NZ. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Close the airport. When i checked in the staff were AMAZING. I arrived a midnight and they welcomed me as i entered the lobby, once checked in the took my bags for me and walked me to my room. The hotel is a bit confusing to get around at first but the staff were wonderful. The rooms are clean and very nice. Bathroom facilities are fantastic and they even have a balcony for the smokers in most rooms.

Free shuttle to the airport also. Had a great stay and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Very welcoming, a great stay with all that you need. Clean and beautifully presented with caring happy professional staff. Food was excellent and quick service. Overal a very comfortable.
Will stay again next time I'm in Christchurch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilla O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
634 reviews
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 144 in Christchurch
612 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#15 of 144 in Christchurch
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Property: Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing