We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location , Makes a stay in Christchurch easy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed three times now. Our last stay was in the Business Rooms. I like the feel and ambience of the place. With friendly bar atmosphere combined with with nice value for money meals the hotel offers everything. Airport transfers friendly staff great value, I will return.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,106 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

Comfortable and clean rooms, restaurant is a bit pricey, average selection, no complementary breakfast. You have to go out for food. Shopping mall and restaurants are 25 mins by taxi or you can take local bus. Nice area to go out for a walk. The hotel has indoor pool, exercise room and out door tables to enjoy an evening with friends. Service was good.

Room Tip: Only 5 mis from airport, (no complementary breakfast :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vinny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our last night in New Zealand and we weren't disappointed with our Business level room which was fairly typical for this type of hotel. The room was pleasant, spacious, well designed and clean and the bathroom was well appointed. We dined in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our meal which we felt was reasonably priced. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. A very nice way to end a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Recently spent 4 days at this hotel. Obviously wth the rebuild of the city, the accommodation is at a premium, as well as availability. However the prices exceeded those of a Five Star hotel in Sydney without the usual benefits. My initial room was dated and very stuffy with an archaic and incredibly large airconditioner [the size of a large office desk] that was inefficient and looked circa 1960's.
But after a night of being 'swallowed' by a very soft bed it was necessary to request a room change in the hope of a good night's sleep.
The next room was similar in style with a hungry bed and ineffective air-conditioning.
So a quick visit to Wotif to secure a reasoable room rate for the last night did result in securing the hotel's best premium room at a cheaper price than the basic motel style rooms. Bliss!...finally a comfortable bed and pleasant room with air-con that worked. If only I had known earlier!
General areas of the hotel were very relaxing with bar/lounge and outdoor areas made for winding down and relaxing.
I found the service spasmodic in these areas, one day full service was provided to your table while enjoying the sunshine, and the next day staff are directing you to go and and place orders at the bar. A little consistency would be appreciated. It seemed on the days that there were only a few staff on, in the bar/lounge area the service was efficient, and when there was abundant staff, they were too busy inter-acting amongst themselves. Guys I suggest you worry about the wearing of Buskers tshirts until there are no customers about.
Exemplary service from Devon on the Front Desk, a standout and thank you.
The pool area was good, but for lap swimming, one should pop down the road to Jellie Park, where there are both indoor 25mtr pools [2] and a 50mtr outdoor pool, all heated.
The shuttle service provided by this hotel is excellent and an added bonus is the free use of bicycles with helmets and locks. A great way to explore the parklands and city. Take the time to go down town to the CBD and support Restart, the temporary mall made of shipping containers. Stop have a coffee and meal and enjoy the optimism that is on show for the world.

Room Tip: Although they are further away, I can recommend the wing of the hotel which houses the business leve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiatiFemme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport which is the plus point especially if this is the last leg of your journey back home

We were also upgraded to a better room since we were travelling on our honeymoon. However, when we stayed there, the hotel still was reeling under the earthquake and some of the locations were damaged. The staff still did a great job of taking care of the guests

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParagbMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport and they have very helpful service staff. We were also upgraded to a better room. It is a very nicely kept place. the bus stop is right outside the hotel and is fairly close to the city center.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Copthorne Commodore hotel for one night, and it was a perfect passing through point on our trip. The service there was absolutely amazing, and we felt very welcome there. This hotel is ideal for families, because it has rooms that can fit four, with a comfortable king bed and two twin beds. The rooms were very nice, and The Copthorne also has a lovely pool. They also have free bikes, so you can ride into Christchurch for dinner or just to explore. Our package deal included a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motorola27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.4 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
4.7 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,449 reviews
4.7 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
3.6 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch

Address: 449 Memorial Avenue, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $130 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Christchurch's Memorial Avenue, The Commodore is just minutes away from the Christchurch International Airport and ten minutes into the centre of Christchurch. With an idyllic setting featuring award-winning native New Zealand gardens on seven acres of land, you can be assured of a tranquil stay.The hotel features 157 guest rooms, conference facilities, and extensive free parking. Our 'resort style' leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, sauna and gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing