We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place but bad service”
Review of The Running Bull

The Running Bull
Ranked #549 of 980 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place but bad service”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Staff were not very friendly one of them served a friend a drink with his overseas licence the next time he went up a different member of staff said that's no good and to leave the premises this was a bit unfair as he was able to buy his first drink with it.Other then that it was a nice place and the DJ was okay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    89
    34
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Foxton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best roast lamb we have EVER tasted...”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The huge platter for two contained enough delicious food for four! The service was excellent and our uni student grand daughter was very happy with the doggy bag we dropped off for her. And I must add that the twice cooked lamb roast was the most beautiful meat we have ever, ever tasted. We would definitely recommend this restaurant, we will be going back sometime and at $55 it would make a terrific dinner for a group of uni students who are happy to share.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The Menu looks great BUT”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The menu and staff were amasing. We ordered the meat platter for two. Looked amasing but one of the ribs tasted odd, Gave me the runs the next day . I guess I was just unlucky ..mmm

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A proper pub!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was a real discovery on Riccarton Road near Hagley Park. Great Kiwi pub, something always going on, with a special most nights of the week bringing the cost of food and drink down. Good pizzas and sharing platters, good place to watch sport and catch up with friends.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Very good steaks,cooked to perfection and quickly,friendly staff and good parking.Tuna steak was very good its a must try (cooked rare is spot on ) pricing is just above average but the quality is well above every where else we've eaten

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Running Bull also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to The Running Bull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing