We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for those not wanting a typical hostel experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canterbury House Backpackers

Canterbury House Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Canterbury House Backpackers
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good for those not wanting a typical hostel experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location is not the best of you want to stay city centre. About 25 mins walk into town. Although it is handy for the intercity bus stop. Only dealt with Alan and he was very helpful. Stayed here for 1 night and had an early departure the next morning so getting a shower was not a problem. The place itself is a home, and very old fashioned which added to the quirkiness of it. Got a single room and done the job nicely. It was winter so was cold and although I didn't think much of the heater in the room the bed was very well insulated with plenty of covers. This is not a hostel to meet and party with others. It's regimented but offers a good place for a quiet night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank massie_le
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
15
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a couple of nights in Dec 2012. The location is good and is only a 20-30 minute walk to the red zone. The first thing we noticed though was that the place smelt like an old people's home, it needs all the doors and windows opening, curtains drawing and a good airing...

Alan wasn't particularly welcoming and seemed to leave all the work (except watering plants) to Keiko; who is the best bit if our stay and was very informative about the area. Alan even closed the TV lounge to us at 9pm one night as he wanted to watch something alone.

It's not the worst place we've stayed in, but there must be better hostel type accommodation in Christchurch.

Andy &

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZumosTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Where to begin, It was the final few days of an amazing trip but this place left me wishing I never went near the South Island!!!
I felt like I was staying in somebody's home who didn't want me to be there. The Owners are really blunt and rude.
You cant shower between certain times, you cant cook at certain times, you cant use certain Kitchen Utensils, You cant talk in the kitchen past 10pm or face the fury!!!
It was winter and the heating was never on in the bedrooms (bring your thermals)
To be honest it was just the worst thing ever, horrible way to finish a holiday. But I can at least try to reach out to others, DON'T DO IT!!!! I implore you go to a proper hostel where you feel welcome it makes all the difference!!

Room Tip: Prisoners would prefer a cell!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrumpetO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice, cosy and clean place with a good location. There's space to park your car too. Not as rowdy as some of the other hostels for younger crowd. Only thing is that..the lady owner is a little stern looking..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blueblue0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

You certainly can't fault this place in terms of cleanliness! We had a fairly comfortable stay here for 2 or 3 nights but the trouble is even though you've paid money to stay there it always feels like you're in someones house and as such it makes you afraid to touch anything or watch tv after the owners have gone to bed (which is pretty early). The gentleman in the house was very friendly and helpful but we were a little afraid of the woman as she seemed just a little too house-proud and uptight. Kind of felt like we were risking being told off at times.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Iammmattdoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a good place for all of us who don't really enjoy busy (read noisy) hostels as Canterbury House doesn't quite attract the younger crowd, which is exactly the place we were looking for. It's not a big hostel and the location makes you feel like you're not a ten-minute walk from the city centre. It simply feels like staying at someone's house, like another user here wrote. The owners are friendly and very helpful. They definitely walked the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our stay in Christchurch. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 496timd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed at Canterbury House for just the 1 night but we would definitely stay there again next time we are in Christchurch. You can walk down to the red zone within 5 to 10minutes and there is a great Speights Ale House next door that has a great atmosphere and serves good beers. The place itself was excellent, the owners were really nice and the room was really cosy. There are a couple of toilets and showers so we never really had trouble with waiting. Its location is a great bonus as well, you can walk there within a few minutes from the temporary coach station on Bealey Avenue.
If you need to get to the airport as well it can be arranged for $18 and then $5 for every person after which was a lot easier than catching the local buses.
We cant recommend the place enough.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fobl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.6 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#14 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
All Stars Inn on Bealey
All Stars Inn on Bealey
#11 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urbanz
Urbanz
#28 of 111 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#22 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#9 of 111 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Old Countryhouse
The Old Countryhouse
#17 of 111 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canterbury House Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canterbury House Backpackers

Property: Canterbury House Backpackers
Address: 257 Bealey Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Canterbury House Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing