We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good option close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Palms Motel
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good option close to airport”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent one night here before early flight out of Christchurch Airport the next morning. As the name would suggest, it is very handy to the airport. But it is still only about 15 min to the city centre as well, which is also very convenient. The room we had was large, well appointed (self contained) and very new and clean. It is sort of in the middle of the burbs, and I didn't see too many dining options in the immediate vicinity, which could be a hassle if carless. Price was pretty good, given the location and room quality/cleanliness. Service was friendly and adequate, but perfunctory, as would be expected at any motel. Its on an arterial road, so there was a bit of traffic noise, but that had mainly quietened down by late evening. We certainly appeciated the convenience of the Palms, and will keep it in mind for any future late arrivals or early departures.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOCKMAC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    176
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
180
355
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The rooms are extremely well equipped and the welcome and service was second to none. We would certainly stay here again. The sitting room is equipped with a 42" flat screen TV and the unit has WiFi and broadband. Superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Knowing that we would be arriving in Christchurch at almost midnight, we booked a room close to the airport.
Excellent choice. Very clean, nice amenities and they had a shuttle to take me back to the airport for the rental car.
Definitely recommend the Airport Palms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waubaushene
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We we're very pleased with the room and the lovely amenities. Fresh milk in the fridge was a surprise bonus for our morning coffee. We booked the hotel for it's complimentary airport shuttle but found out on arrival that in the small print it only runs during the day. The front desk staff went out of her way to book us a taxi for the morning and told us it would be $11. We were shocked in the morning when the taxi charged us a flat rate of $24! We usually book our airport hotels based on the location and complimentary shuttle but would consider this hotel again as the staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverUnpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lovely clean, spacious room with a very comfy bed. Just what we needed after a very long flight. Airport pick-up was brilliant and we were collected within a few minutes of making a call. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are staying a short time or catching a plane. The rooms are smaller, but contain all you need. The owner is very helpful and provides excellent information and advice. It is not close to downtown, but is close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is about 2KM from the airport and I stayed there twice, once after a late arrival and another time before an early AM flight. It is clean and they have a process to leave you a key for late arrival as the office closes around 8 PM and doesn't open until 7 AM. When they are open they give u a ride to and from the airport. BUT after hours is a big problem. Taxis don't want to take you on such a short ride. Only after agreeing to adding $20 to the meter did I get a ride. They arrange an early taxi to the airport which worked out fine but I was a bit nervous. I'd consider a hotel that has a 24 hour shuttle if you are taking flights outside of the Palms hours. Otherwise it is fine. Wifi is not free though, despite it appearing as free wifi on some sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 145 in Christchurch
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 145 in Christchurch
1,847 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
3.7 mi away
Amross Court Motor Lodge
Amross Court Motor Lodge
#2 of 145 in Christchurch
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Palms Motel

Property: Airport Palms Motel
Address: 56 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2011, Airport Palms Motel offers 22 tastefully decorated and comfortable units as well as friendly and helpful staff. Only 3 minutes drive from Christchurch International Airport, with a wide range of attractions and facilities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing