We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice for an airport hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Palms Motel
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Waubaushene
1 review
“Excellent choice for an airport hotel.”
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We we're very pleased with the room and the lovely amenities. Fresh milk in the fridge was a surprise bonus for our morning coffee. We booked the hotel for it's complimentary airport shuttle but found out on arrival that in the small print it only runs during the day. The front desk staff went out of her way to book us a taxi for the morning and told us it would be $11. We were shocked in the morning when the taxi charged us a flat rate of $24! We usually book our airport hotels based on the location and complimentary shuttle but would consider this hotel again as the staff was very friendly and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeverUnpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    175
    25
    4
    4
See reviews for
175
351
37
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Lovely clean, spacious room with a very comfy bed. Just what we needed after a very long flight. Airport pick-up was brilliant and we were collected within a few minutes of making a call. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoe018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is an excellent choice if you are staying a short time or catching a plane. The rooms are smaller, but contain all you need. The owner is very helpful and provides excellent information and advice. It is not close to downtown, but is close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Playin-Hooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This place is about 2KM from the airport and I stayed there twice, once after a late arrival and another time before an early AM flight. It is clean and they have a process to leave you a key for late arrival as the office closes around 8 PM and doesn't open until 7 AM. When they are open they give u a ride to and from the airport. BUT after hours is a big problem. Taxis don't want to take you on such a short ride. Only after agreeing to adding $20 to the meter did I get a ride. They arrange an early taxi to the airport which worked out fine but I was a bit nervous. I'd consider a hotel that has a 24 hour shuttle if you are taking flights outside of the Palms hours. Otherwise it is fine. Wifi is not free though, despite it appearing as free wifi on some sites.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Hi, can only say that this motel was fantastic. Very clean and everything you wanted supplied. They also picked us up from the airport and dropped us at Britz to pick up our motorhomes. Very friendly and 1st class service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We only stayed one night in a studio unit but from the welcoming pre-stay email for late checkin to accepting our bags early in the day and delivering to our unit before we arrived, and then the lovely modern clean comfortable accommodation, we would definitely stay again and recommend to anyone. Handy to the airport and buses to town. And two choices of fresh milk.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed on the last night of our holiday in NZ before flying out of the airport. Extremely nice and helpful lady on reception - sorry I did not get her name. As we had lots of luggage I asked if we could have a downstairs unit so she changed us from the one she had allocated. This was a fantastic apartment with a spa pool which was so lovely to relax in after a tiring day of driving down from Queenstown.

The location is ideal. Easy to find. Less than 5 mins drive to airport and very easy to drive to the city centre, nice New World supermarket on the way. We didn't use the airport shuttle but would be useful if needed. Parking fine.

We have been really impressed with all the accommodation we have stayed at in NZ ( we go for mid-range and this has been much better than the equivalent in UK or Europe). The Airport Palms was the best of the lot. Everything immaculately clean, fresh and modern. All the kitchen equipment was excellent, everything you would need. Very nice clean, modern kitchen and bathroom. Nice toiletries.

Cannot fault the place. Would recommend to anybody looking for this type of accommodation. We would not hesitate to come back and hope we will.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 144 in Christchurch
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
640 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#6 of 144 in Christchurch
1,315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#14 of 144 in Christchurch
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Palms Motel

Property: Airport Palms Motel
Address: 56 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2011, Airport Palms Motel offers 22 tastefully decorated and comfortable units as well as friendly and helpful staff. Only 3 minutes drive from Christchurch International Airport, with a wide range of attractions and facilities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Airport Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing