We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and well equipped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Palms Motel
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

A short trip from the airport - clean, well kitted, modern rooms with everything you need for a nights stopover pre or post a trip to the airport. My only comment would be that taxi drivers aren't very receptive to dropping guests off to the motel from the airport when you arrive after the operating shuttle hour - unfortunately there aren't many alternatives however for late night arrivals and it is a costly $20 3 min drive.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bened123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 805 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before catching a flight back to Wellington, the reception staff were very accommodating. The room was clean and fresh, with a lovely kitchette. There was also a complimentary laundry room, get there as early as possible as it can be busy and if you have a finite amount of time may not be able to wash and dry your clothes!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madwhench73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Whilst this was a great location we did experience a few problems. Firstly, we requested a earlier reminder call at 3am for a flight back to Melbourne Australia and we did not receive the call which was very disappointing. Secondly, at 1am the automatic sprinkler outside out room was activated and I had to go out and turn it off. This was not satisfactory for the above reasons. Also the wifi was $3.00 for 30 minutes using your credit card therefore you bought additional time. Wifi as seen on some other comments was certainly not free. Very disappointed in the human experiences of this place.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room near the busy road for light sleepers this could be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Ditto to all other positive comments-We were lucky enough to get a very quiet back room -slept beautifully which is unusual for me in a strange bed. The units were lovely and clean as well as being well appointed. Loved the service and friendliness of the manager.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I researched this motel before booking, and can say that I was not disappointed in my choice. This motel is wonderful. The room was large, absolutely spotless and very comfortable. I found both the receptionist Emma and the owner Lynn to be friendly, welcoming and very efficient. The close proximity to the International airport is fantastic and the fact that there is a complimentary shuttle bus to and from the airport an added bonus. I would 100% recommend Airport Palms Motel to anybody. I will be back in Christchurch again next year and will definitely be staying again. There is also a good variety of restaurants, taverns and takeaway food outlets in close proximity, including a subway, McDonalds, fish and chips. This motel is great for both families and for someone like me, travelling on my own. Thank you Lynn for a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor King Studio unit which was large and very comfortable. I think all rooms at thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was traveling in a group of 3. We had booked 2 rooms. My 2 traveling companions sharing one room. On our arrival they were allocated a upstairs room. When asked if any ground floor the young receptionist said yes but would have to check the bedding configuration was the same. Very helpful.
Straight up asked if we would require taxi to airport, as the hotel has a firm that offers quoted price, the taxi did not seem to know about this but still charged quoted price. Another plus.
Also asked if wanted to have dinner close by as could arrange pick up and drop home. Another tick. When we arrived at the bistro a booking had been made for us. Only thing the bistro area a smidgen noisy.
Rooms very clean as this was a new motel. Only downfall rooms I thought were a little small, but hey for overnight was no problem or even a few nights would be fine.
The rate excellent value.
We found out the young receptionist was new. This lady is a great asset to your motel.

Room Tip: Only two floors, we were just a bit over stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ststbio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Really well appointed and comfortable family facilities. Surprisingly quiet. Great location particularly for a quick stopover in Christchurch. Our host was very personable. Would recommend it to families and people needing a location close to the airport. An easy travelling distance to the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
0.3 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
4.4 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,113 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
3.3 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
699 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Palms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Palms Motel

Address: 56 Roydvale Avenue | Burnside, Christchurch 8053, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Price Range: $111 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Airport Palms Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened November 2011, Airport Palms Motel offers 22 tastefully decorated and comfortable units as well as friendly and helpful staff. Only 3 minutes drive from Christchurch International Airport, with a wide range of attractions and facilities close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Airport Palms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing