We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely worth a visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Purple-der House Accommodation
Ranked #39 of 130 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Cagliari, Sardegna, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Definitely worth a visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

A great place to stay & Kim (the owner) was very friendly, patient & went out of his way to ensure my stay was delightful.
The bedrooms were very clean & comfortable.
They made my holiday the best in a long time & I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here & would recommend this place to anyone visiting Christchurch.
Pierandrea Sessini (Italy)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierandrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arrived very early (like 7am) and Kim let us leave luggage so we could start our first day. Upstairs room was fine for us with separate bathroom, kitchen area, fridge, tv. New Brighton is a short drive from Christchurch and has suffered from the quakes but not as bad as the city. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcanddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We wound up in this rather unlikely part of the city because we wanted to be near people in New Brighton that we were visiting. The owner was very welcoming, the room was spacious and clean and perfect for our family of four. The decor might not be to everyone's taste but what cannot fail to please is that a lot of attention has gone in to the details - for example the rose petals that are strewn around are a thoughtul touch and present a picture that is anything but utilitarian. It is true, the location is far away from the centre of Christchurch, but, on the other hand, at the time of writing Christchurch has no meaningful centre and it takes ages to get from anywhere to anywhere - so, you might as well stay here as elsewhere. On the practical side everything was absolutely okay, or better. Bed good, kitchen well equipped, free internet connection (npt for huge downloads but email, google maps etc. is all okay). The kitchen is shared, but as there are only three rooms this didn't present a problem, at least on the day that I was there. A very enjoyable stay, even if rather short. I would definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tones67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a lovely B&B that I would highly recommend for anyone visiting Christchurch on budget to stay at (note: it's not very centrally located but is beside the beach). The room I stayed in was really comfortable with great facilities including a massive flatscreen TV with tons of channels! The kitchen was lovely and clean as was the rest of the place. The host was helpful too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

took us a while to find, but this unsual property is well worth considering.
Originally booked via Booking.com for a single at a bargain price, but the double is still reasonable.
Nice flowery garden, generous room size with kitchenette and comfy bed.
Off street parking, helpful owner.
Close to NW area beaches rather than the city.

Room Tip: Upstairs double has a good view of a green lawned garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uzzul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
At The Beach B & B Motel
At The Beach B & B Motel
#23 of 130 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
4.3 mi away
BreakFree on Cashel
BreakFree on Cashel
#29 of 144 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
7.9 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
4.3 mi away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#129 of 144 in Christchurch
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.3 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 144 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple-der House Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple-der House Accommodation

Property: Purple-der House Accommodation
Address: 148 Palmers Road | Christchurch, 8083, Christchurch 8083, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 130 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Purple-der House Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Purple-der House Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing