We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Haka Lodge Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“Absolutely love this place”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hostel was great for my friend and I. We drove so had no problems finding. It may look small but the rooms are actually one of the bigger double rooms we stayed at in New Zealand. Staff was really really nice and there were DVD players in our rooms as well. Really worth the money paid to stay here. Would recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    49
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
53
64
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This hostel is a small and homey one right outside Christchurch CBD. Everything you could possible need is available and the staff was incredible happy to help. The kitchen is small, but then there aren't that many people that can stay there at the same time so it was never a problem for us. Everything is clean and the bathrooms was big and felt newly renovated, even the showers was good! You get free wifi vouchers on your arrival which was very appreciated. They do have a cat, which is worth noting if you are allergic, but she was very shy and didn't bother us. Also, the dorms are not really dorms since there is walls (but no doors) between every two beds, and no bunk beds, which gives you bit privacy. They had big lockers for your stuff which made it no problem to leave your valuables.

The location is the only thing that could have been better. It takes approx 10 minutes with a bus from Chch CBD, which was a pain when we were going on an early all day tour from town. But if you have your own car this might even be an advantage. And there's a busstop right outside the entrance anyway so really it wasn't a big deal.

All in all I REALLY liked this hostel and would recommend it for anyone who are going to Chch!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Haka Lodge was a real pleasure to stay in. I'm actually going back there in a few days. As other reviewers have said it's like staying over at a mate's rather than being in a hostel. Hands down the most comfortable I've felt in any hostel in NZ. And the showers are lush. Power shower jobs. It was lovely to feel clean after some hit and miss hostels.

The only downsides for me were the distance from the town centre (I had to get two buses after I was dropped off by my intercity coach) and the fact that you had to pay for wifi. It wasn't unlimited as some people have said. Some face booking and a couple of YouTube videos and I was over my limit having paid 10 dollars for a day!

Everything else was great and if they improved on the wifi it would be perfect. Best choice if you've got a car or if you're not too bothered about going into town.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thisbatteredsuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I will begin by saying what I've enjoyed with Haka Lodge. The accomodation was well taken care of all the way through, maybe one of the cleanest that I've ever stayed in. The interior was very nice and comfortable with alot to offer in the ways of entertainment. I was a little suprised really by how new everything seemed inside of the building considering that I've been living in backpackers for almost 2 years now and I know how easily things can be damaged inside of them! It did seem a little like I was staying over at someone's house then in a backpackers accomodation. The rooms were nearly motel quality, and the bathrooms were very nice and private and close to our rooms. The staff were very informative about how to get around the city and were helpful when assistance was required.

However, as nice as the backpacker hostel was, I must admit that the location was a bit far from the CBD and other attractions in Christchurch. A bus stop nearby can shift you around with moderate ease though. And some of the staff seemed a little too stern at times or just plain indifferent.

All in all it was a nice, comfortable stay in quality accomodation and with minimal complaints. But hopefully you have a vehicle, or are not shy of a good hike!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelJunkie255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I was very ill with sinusitis and bronchitis and had booked a single room. Haka hooked me up with a complimentary upgrade to an apartment to myself because of my situation. They also stored my luggage for weeks. Very kind and considerate staff. My favorite hostile in Christchurch!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not your typical hostel. We had our own room with nice sheets, a tv and heater. The bathroom was clean as well, it felt more like I was staying at a friend's house. KItchen was awesome and internet was unlimited which we found difficult to find in NZ. Staff was very friendly. Already recommended the place to other travelers going through Christchurch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

we arrived late at night and there was no trouble checking in. the apartment and room was left nice and warm for a cold night. very clean, great bathroom, and easy check out. Plus was recomended a great cafe for breakfast just down the road. Only thing is you'd be best to have a car to stay here (as we did)

Room Tip: twin room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EditAdamTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
3.8 mi away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 103 in Christchurch
493 reviews
3.1 mi away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#6 of 103 in Christchurch
200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 103 in Christchurch
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#15 of 103 in Christchurch
111 reviews
8.0 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
190 reviews
3.2 mi away
Christchurch YMCA
Christchurch YMCA
#17 of 103 in Christchurch
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haka Lodge Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haka Lodge Christchurch

Property: Haka Lodge Christchurch
Address: 518 Linwood Avenue, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Haka Lodge Christchurch 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Haka Lodge is located in a suburban neighbourhood in Christchurch; we have great eateries, supermarkets within walking distance and handy public buses to the central city, amazing beaches and the airport. We offer a range of accommodation options from dorm beds, double rooms and twin room as well as our two bed roomed self contained apartment. Haka Lodge Christchurch lets you relax in what we like to call “home style luxury”! Unwind in our comfortable lounges, whip up a storm in the kitchen, refresh yourself in our bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and towels, use free unlimited WiFi to say hi to friends and family and relax in our gorgeous eco-friendly garden filled with native plants and herbs and vegetables in the summer months. We have plenty of on-street car parking in front of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Haka Lodge Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing