We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch
196

Book in advance
from
$189.87
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hassle Free Tours
from $189.87
More Info
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveler rating
706
110
33
15
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
706
110
33
15
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 885 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2020

The driver of the red route speak to fast and wasn't so informativ, the driver of the blue route was perfect and very knowledgeable.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Pál S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thanks for your honest review of our Soaring Kiwi Tours in Auckland.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our tours for half the day but are very sorry to hear that we failed to deliver our service to our usual high standards the rest of the day.

We always use the quieter winter time to focus on refresher training for our driver guides, so will use this feedback to help them to keep a measured pace and clear delivery of information.

Thank you again for letting us know of your experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Auckland.

Kind regards, from all of our team at Soaring Kiwi Tours :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2020

This was by far the best excursion we had. Though I'm sure they have 4WD tours. Ours was on a big tour bus that drove up and deposited us at the foot of Mt Sunday for some picture taking at the foot of the mountain. Due to the length of time it took to get here from our cruise ship, we didn't get a chance to spend much time here. Now with that said, why did I rate this 5 stars. The services from Hassle Free Tours were the 5 stars. The hospitable tea and meal provided by the tour group were nice additions, but the star of the entire drive was our driver Barry. The guy is a gem! He regaled us with stories of his history as a police officer as well as tidbits of the history of New Zealand. Once he started talking about his history with the filming of the Lord of the Rings, every one and I mean everyone in the bus was just amazed. He kept us entertained THE ENTIRE DRIVE! All by himself! Whether it was witty jokes, interesting tidbits, or just being himself, we loved Barry. The first thing we did after the cruise was to check our recording of the movies as we had them on ipad on the ship . . . his name was there in the role he said. Hassle Free Tours - you've got a gem in Barry. If we are ever in Christchurch again and can do another tour with him, we would love it. Thank you for an amazing set of memories and best of wishes to you all! Hope the travel scare right now will pass and you continue to succeed! Wish you all the best!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank R106DUjonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora, wow what an absolutely awesome review! Thanks so much!

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your Journey to Edoras with Barry. We are extremely fortunate to have a team of dedicated and passionate drivers who love telling stories and we will be sure to pass this on to Barry directly as well as the management team. We really appreciate your comments and agree he is an awesome guide.

We hope you captured some fantastic photos of your journey to "middle-earth" and we hope to see you again some day.

Kind regards, from Barry and all of our team at Hassle-free Tours. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2020 via mobile

I took the trip with Maria the other day, and it was excellent.
For every fan of the Lord of the Rings this is a Must-See location.
There are no ways to describe (or I am not poetic enough) but it's everything you can imagine.
What a location!

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank Roving109827
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your excellent review of our Journey to Edoras tour.

We are so thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your day with Maria - learning about the making of the movies in this spectacular location and taking in the amazing scenery.

Thank you again for your great feedback and for choosing to spend time with us during your stay in New Zealand. We hope you left with happy life-long memories of your time in middle-earth!

Warm regards from Maria and all of our team here at Hassle-free Tours! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2020 via mobile

Having arrived in Auckland, where I was staying two nights, I decided to buy the 24 hour bus combo which allowed me to take the two different bus routes and to give me a quick overview of Auckland itself. John was our driver/guide for the following hour and gave a very informative tour, taking us to each of the stops on their easy to follow brochure and adding regular quips of 'useless' fun facts and information. There are several lots of roadworks being carried out in Auckland which affect both routes, however John used the time spent queuing to get through these, to elaborate about the area. The weather was glorious and sitting on the top deck gave a 'birds eye' view of the wonderful views available in Auckland and at the same time topped up my suntan. The red route bus was waiting when we got back to the original pick up point near the Sky Tower, and this enabled me to make a seamless transfer for a further hour of sightseeing.

Thank 411lynnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your wonderful review of our Soaring Kiwi Tour in Auckland!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed utilising your 24hr 'hop on hop off' pass for both tour routes. We think it really is the best way to see Auckland and visit all the top attractions.

We are also delighted to hear that you found our commentaries on both circuits very entertaining and informative.

Thank you for your lovely feedback about our staff - we are extremely fortunate to have a "superstar team" of passionate sales staff, drivers and guides, and will make sure to pass on your kind words.

Thank you for choosing to travel with us, we really appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back again another day!

Warm regards from all our team here at Hassle-free and Soaring Kiwi Tours! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2020 via mobile

Excellent day out. We were very fortunate with the weather though.
Picked up from hotel on Christchurch Steve gave us a full commentary on the drive to Kaikoura, the whale-watching team were great and we had an excellent fish and chips before returning to Christchurch.
Recommended but hope you are lucky with the weather.

Thank Sh0rtleg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you so much for your wonderful review of our Kaikoura Tour!

We are thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your day out with Steve, exploring our beautiful region, learning about our history and meeting the local marine-life.

We hope you captured lots of great photos to commemorate your visit and wish you all the best for the rest of your travels throughout New Zealand.

Kind regards, from Steve and all of our Hassle-free Tours team. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews