We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch
196

Book in advance
from
$189.87
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hassle Free Tours
from $189.87
More Info
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveler rating
706
110
33
15
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
706
110
33
15
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 885 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2020 via mobile

The only hop on hop off bus around the world I have been on and asked to get off the bus to let people on.
The company are selling to many tickets and not enough buses
Had to wait 50 mins to get on the bus then was asked to leave at the next stop to key people on.
Avoid at all costs

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank S5269NNalanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your honest review of our Auckland Soaring Kiwi tours.

Our apologies, we are disappointed that we could not deliver the tour to our mutual expectations on this occasion and promise to learn from this and improve on our processes for the future. We will be spending a lot of time focusing on the driver training and on what we can work on over the winter. The manager has already spoken to the driver in question - it's certainly not procedure to be trying to make people get off at each stop, it sounds like this driver had gotten a bit overwhelmed at the busyness of this day. We are hoping to get some extra buses for next summer to ease the pressure on the busy days.

Thank you again for letting us know of your experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time around New Zealand.

Kind regards,
The Soaring Kiwi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2020 via mobile

Like most of this type of trip it is a good way to see the layout of the city and learn about the history and recent events that happened, in particular the terrible quakes. The blue route specially addresses this issue issue with the graphic visits to the red zone where houses have been cleared leaving a graphic reminder of the event. It is sad to see the scars of the cathedral still remaining, however hopefully this will be addressed in the foreseeable future. The driver commentary, in particular from Chris, was superb with quiet, calm and immensely informative detail imparted in a highly professional manner.

1  Thank bernie_SGR93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your honest review of our Christchurch Hop on Hop off City Tour.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed exploring Christchurch and learning the history of our city with Chris. Our dedicated team work hard to ensure our commentaries are entertaining and informative and we are glad that you found it comprehensive, we'll be sure to pass your comments on to Chris directly.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We hope you left with some wonderful memories of your stay in our city, and maybe see you again when the city has changed a bit more in the future!

Kind regards,
The Soaring Kiwi team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2020

It was an easy way to have an overview of Auckland. It made several stops making visiting major attractions easy and affordable.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank Y1497UZanitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for joining us on our Soaring Kiwi Auckland Tour.
We are so glad to hear that you had such a great time. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, we hope to see you again some day.
Kind regards, the Soaring Kiwi Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2020

Great tour out of Christchurch with a small group. Pete was our tour guide and he was phenomenal, we had a great time with him. We went from Christchurch down the countryside and ended up at Mount Sunday, where Edoras was filmed and could see Helms Deep filming across the same plane. There was quite a bit of walking to get to the top of Mount Sunday. We made the mistake of not wearing sunscreen even though we were only outside for 2 hours and it was overcast - even if you don't think you need it, you do! Lunch afterwards was relaxing at the lodge, and it included sandwhiches, dessert and some bubbly.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank J7173UVjuliaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your fantastic review of our Lord of the Rings Edoras Tour!

We are absolutely delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with Pete at Edoras. We are happy to hear he did a wonderful job and will make sure to pass on your kind comments.

Thank you for choosing to travel with Hassle-free Tours, we really appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back to Christchurch again another day!

Kind regards, the Hasslefree Tours team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2020

We have just arrived back in our hotel after spending a very pleasant hour on this hop on hop off tour. The driver, Summit was very good and gave us enough information without overloading our tired brains! Whenever we visit a foreign country we go on these tours as it gets you orientated and gives you an idea what you want to see.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank WendysMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your lovely review of our Auckland Soaring Kiwi tours!

We are absolutely delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with Sumit and got a good overview of the city.

Thank you for choosing to travel with Soaring Kiwi Tours, we really appreciate your support and hope to welcome you back to Christchurch again another day!

Kind regards,
The whole Soaring Kiwi team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews