We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Lord of the Rings - Journey to Edoras from Christchurch
196

Book in advance
from
$189.87
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Hassle Free Tours
from $189.87
More Info
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveler rating
706
110
33
15
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
706
110
33
15
21
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 885 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2020 via mobile

Steve Wilson was our tour guide, he was extremely informative, professional and had an all round great sense of humour. He really did go above and beyond to take care of our group and made us feel welcome from start to finish. The Jet boating was a blast and the scenery from the high vantage points was second to none. Thanks for an awesome day Steve, 5 STARS! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Adam and Rebecca.

Date of experience: February 2020
Thank 1ShotAtIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2020

Kia Ora Adam and Rebecca and thanks for joining us on our High Country Adventure cruise ship excursion tour.

It's so great to hear you had such a fabulous time! We are delighted to hear you found Steve's commentary entertaining and informative, and will make sure to pass on your lovely comments.

Thank you again for spending the day with us and for taking the time leave a review, we hope you left with some wonderful memories and photos of your time with us.

Kind regards,
The Hasslefree Tours team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2020 via mobile

Fantastic experience and very friendly guide who could his job and loved what he did. Thanks Steve for your guidance

Thank farahnazsundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2020

Kia Ora and thanks for joining us on our Kaikoura tour. Sounds like you had a great day!
It's good to hear Steve did a wonderful job too, we'll pass on your comments.
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we really appreciate it :)
Kind regards,
The Hasslefree Tours team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2020 via mobile

What a scam! Worst money spend. This company sold way to many ticket which meant that getting a seat out in the open was close to impossible unless you got on first stop. The next problem was that if you got off you would have to wait hours to get back on as no one wanted to leave the buss at any of the stops! People were frustrated trying to get back to the city and it was just the worst value for money ! Get a taxi if you are a few people.

1  Thank acdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your honest review of our Auckland Soaring Kiwi Tours.

Our apologies, we are disappointed that we could not deliver the tour to our mutual expectations on this occasion and promise to learn from this and improve on our processes for the future. We will be spending a lot of time focusing on the driver training and on what we can work on over the quieter winter period. It's certainly not procedure to be trying to make people get off at each stop, it sounds like this driver had gotten a bit overwhelmed at the busyness of this day. We are hoping to get some extra buses for next summer to ease the pressure on the busy days.


Thank you again for letting us know of your experience. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time exploring New Zealand.


Kind regards,
The Soaring Kiwi team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2020

My husband is a massive Lord of the Rings fan so persuaded me to accompany him on this tour.. I am so glad he did. Beautiful scenery on the way there with regular rest stops.The first was at a lovely cafe where you could buy some food (delicious), then at Mount Potts . This was where we had a very enjoyable lunch on the way back after visiting Mount Sunday (Edoras). The weather started off cloudy but improved and became sunny and warm. Thoroughly enjoyed our climb to the top of the hill and were rewarded by the absolutely fantastic views- truly stunning! Our tour guide, Steve was excellent - his commentary was great and we learned a lot.. Even if you’re not a fan of Lord of the Rings this trip to middle earth is well worth taking for the wonderful scenery.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank pamgS7790FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2020

Kia Ora and thanks for joining us on our Lord of the Rings tour.

We're glad to hear you were persuaded to come along, it's such a beautiful area to explore even if you don't know much about the movies! We are pleased to hear that Steve did a great job as well.

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review, we really appreciate it. Hope the rest of your time in Canterbury went well :)

Kind regards,
The Hasslefree tours team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2020 via mobile

You don’t have to be a LOTR nerd to appreciate the beauty of the scenery on this tour. Marie was a fabulous tour guide-friendly, funny, knowledgeable. Got us up the road from the rest of the car park so there wasn’t so much flat walking, and provided walking poles AND SWORDS AND A BATTLE AXE to use as photo props. 5 hours round trip seemed a little daunting but Marie provided info most of the way up, and then there was great lord of the rings informative videos to watch on the way down. The hike up to the top of mount Sunday seemed difficult but there is actually a less steep route that Marie showed us on the back side and it ended up being no big deal to climb. Plenty of time was given if you needed a rest part way up. Lunch was fresh and tasty, and my vegan daughter loved the special lunch they prepared for her. Can’t say enough good things.

Thank 392jills
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
HassleFreeToursNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Hassle Free Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2020

Kia Ora and thank you for your wonderful review of our Lord of the Rings Tour.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your journey with Maria and had fun taking photos with our LOTR memorabilia at the summit, they are always a much loved addition to everyone's photos!

It's great to hear how much you enjoyed your day with Maria - we'll pass on your lovely comments directly.

Thank you again for spending the day with us, we hope you left with some wonderful memories and photos of your time with us.

Warm regards,
The Hasslefree tours team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews