We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
North South Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This Holiday Park is just 4k north of the airport. Occasional 'planes fly over but we did not find the noise a problem.
Parking right outside the door to the unit.
We arrived late a night but this was not a problem, the key was available. However it was cold when we arrived and we could not warm the room with the tiny electric fan heater, also no plug for the electric blanket on one side (side tables would also be nice), so did not sleep well that night (next night ok though). It was an ensuite cabin, the bathroom very small and narrow (tiny basin but would be difficult to fit a larger one) but was clean enough. The living area was very large with kitchen, sofa for sitting, a good fridge, well ventilated with large bright windows and good curtains (bit short on microwave cooking bowls). The bed must've been comfy as we slept ok.
Reception service was excellent, Siobhan is excellent and Julie (owner) likewise. Julie suggested a new small bus tour of Christchurch - only 4 of us on it and it was very good, we saw a great deal including the city centre (still cordoned off), Lyttleton, eastern areas and beaches, etc. It is so sad to see the damage.
The park unfortunately is somewhat run-down but we would stay there again due to the excellent service and we had no major complaints about the accommodation - of which they have a wide range from basic to motel rooms. It is a large park, easy to find from the airport as it is just off Highway 1 but far enough off not to be road noisy.
Being caravanners in Aus we had a quick peak at the ablutions - no shortage of showers. Laundry small but there is another block. Computers and internet room also.
We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Depends what you want/afford - motels rooms are best of course but we found the ensuite adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyBell5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 239 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2011

The young girl at the reception was very friendly and efficient and in my opinion this has a great impact on ones experience at any accommodation, well done!
We only arrived late afternoon for an early morning flight the next day so can't say much more except that the location was great for the airport and that the communal kitchen was adequate for cooking a nice meal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genises
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My husband & I stayed 1 night in a ensuite cabin. Upon arriving we found the girl at the desk to be most helpful, booking us a shuttle for the next morning to get to the airport. The ensuite room was $88 per night and at the time i thought that was reasonable...However when i saw the room i felt otherwise. All my husband and i expected was a clean, warm and comfortable room for the night as we were catching an early flight out in the morning. We felt this was not too much to ask for. The room itself was dingy with oily stains on the pillow cases and an electric blanket that had no power point to plug it into. When i brought this to their notice they said it could've been the eucalyptus oil that they use to remove stains..."Maybe it hadn't all washed out". They assured me that the sheets were fresh...However after futher inspection of this i can honestly say that there is NO WAY they were fresh sheets. Not when you can see that they had just left what was on there and pulled the duvet up. My husband looked more closely when i left the room and found a hair in between the sheets...So i rest my case there!! I REFUSED TO SLEEP IN THE BED AND WE ENDED UP SLEEPING BETWEEN THE MINK BLANKET THAT WAS ON TOP OF THE SHEETS AND THE DUVET. As for not being able to power the electric blanket she didn't know why and was surprised to hear this. Also the bathroom area was a disgrase. A tap that constantly dripped, rotted carpet, mould around shower at bottom, a fan heater that had been ripped off wall and just left, manky shower curtain and a hand basin so small you were stuggling to be able to use it to wash your hands in and when you brushed your teeth and spat out the toothpaste there was no room to lean over the basin resulting in missing it! There was plenty cutlery and cups and plates though and the fridge went well. The heater on the wall in the room had a panel on it that wouldn't stay up. For the size of the room i don't think they could've got a smaller TV if they tried. I know you get what you pay for but overall not a very nice room, even for the money we paid. We both felt that they needed to maintain these rooms to some sort of standard. If we had a vehicle we would have booked out and gone elsewhere, however we had just taken our rental car back. Very close to airport which is helpful, although i am sure there are other establishments that are of similar distance. Next time we will look around and go elsewhere. :-(

Room Tip: Just maybe don't choose one here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShazWat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed here in October 2011, in a cabin, the room was clean had a kettle, TV and fridge, we were only staying the night as we were catching a flight from the airport which is close by, the manager was friendly and helpfull on the phone and left the key outside reception as we arrived late, they arranged a transfer to the airport for us with an early morning pickup due to the time of our flight, can't fault the place very clean and handy to airport and quite reasonable pricewise

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan F, Manager at North South Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank s312272006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan F, Manager at North South Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
2.8 mi away
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
Christchurch TOP 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 108 in Christchurch
592 reviews
2.1 mi away
219 on Johns Motel & Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Amber Kiwi Holiday Park Christchurch
1.7 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#6 of 108 in Christchurch
238 reviews
8 mi away
No photo provided
Christchurch Kiwi Holiday Park &...
#30 of 108 in Christchurch
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North South Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North South Holiday Park

Address: 530 Sawyers Arms Road, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: $40 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — North South Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North South Holiday Park is the closest Holiday Park to Christchurch International Airport being just a 5 minute drive away. We are also close to all major rental car and campervan depots. We provide a wide range of accommodation options. Make use of our airport shuttle service operating during office house $5 per adult $2.50 per child. We are a pet friendly park however we require to be prearranged with management, unfortunately not inside our accommodation units. FREE WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your North South Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing