We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Monthey, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was the first day at NZ, and what a great beggining! Really clean, confortable, well located, and great suite with really good bathroom and so lovely room. Amazing breakfast and the hosts are sooo nice and helpful!
A really good way to beggin a great adventure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana_RN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We are very aware of the importance to provide a great first impression of our home and New Zealand. We pride ourselves on providing for our guests a quality, clean and comfortable bed & breakfast experience.
Our central location is ideal for exploring the city, with shops, restaurants, theatres close by.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our home, and had a great trip around New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed with Faye and Lindsay for two nights early May. This was our first experience at a B & B and we loved it. Everything was so clean and comfortable. Faye cooked us a special, delicious vegetarian meal and nothing was too much trouble for them both. We felt like pampered family guests. We were collected at the airport late at night and taken into Christchurch the next morning after a delicious breakfast. Lindsay was extremely helpful in the planning of our road trip around the South Island. We just love NZ! Thank you so much for your help and hospitality. We would love to come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are pleased to have introduced you both to a quality bed & breakfast experience. We pride ourselves on making our guests stay as personal as we can. The opportunity to dine with our guests is a highlight for us as well as our guests. Fay enjoys any opportunities to extend her culinary skills. We look forward to a return visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Fay and Lindsay were so friendly and as I requested dinner upon the evening of my arrival I got to visit a bit with them both- I felt privileged to share their time. The food was fabulous and beakfast was really memorable with fresh juice aned homemade granola- fruit , cheese and yogurt and everything yummy you could dream of in the morning,.
The room was lovely and cozy- (I wa so happy to be warm) and the bathroom very luxurious.
I loved the location which was very private and I could walk to the nearest mall and nice restaurants in minutes and felt safe.
I also fell in love with their sweet demure little bijon frisee dog Zach!-Nothing was missing from this perfect stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
It is always our aim to provide a quality experience for our guests. Our homemade breakfasts are a great way to start the day. Thank you for your review, we are humbled by your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent the first and last nights of our honeymoon at Finlay Banks and enjoyed our stay very much! Fay and Lindsay (and their doggy Zac) were great hosts, and we especially appreciated Lindsay driving us to Christchurch's city centre to show us the aftermath of the quake. The couple also shared their family photos with us and made the experience truly personal. Now that's all above a beautiful home, clean rooms and a sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aarongrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are glad you both enjoyed our personal style of hosting. We endeavour to make our guests stay as memorable as we can. Thank you for your kind words. we look forward to your return visit to explore more of our wonderful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Well, where to start ! Fay and Lindsay are such a lovely couple, and run the best B&B we stayed at in our 3 week tour of NZ. Their house is very well designed, and they happily throw it open so that you get a real homestay experience. They were as enthusiastic to have us there as we were to be there. The bedrooms and bathrooms are equipped better than just about any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in.
Lindsay very kindly picked us up from the station when we returned from Greymouth, and ran us to the airport when it was time to leave. We also arranged to dine with Fay and Lindsay on our last night in NZ, and what a treat that was ! I could hear no crashing of pots, and suddenly Fay brings out, what had to be the best meal we ate in NZ...not sure how you do it all so calmly Fay !
You are a great couple, who run a top quality B&B, and my only feedback to you both is, carry on doing what you're doing, don't change a thing.....it was perfect in every way !

Mark & Anna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our home. We enjoy every opportunity to welcome new guests to share our home. Your kind words reinforce the quality experience that we aim to provide to all of our guests. We don't have sea or mountain views but pride ourselves on the quality, service and personal experience offered to all guests. We enjoy the company of guests dining with us and this becomes a highlight of their holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying with Fay, Lindsay and Zac. The house is located in a nice area, the room was clean and beautiful and breakfast delicious. Fay and Lindsay's knowledge about Christchurch helped us a lot with our plans and their company was delightful.
Would be happy to stay there again and recommend the place to anyone who enjoys great service and a warm feeling of staying at a friend's home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaS200413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are pleased that you both enjoyed your stay in our home. We pride ourselves on offering a quality and personal service. Breakfast is an enjoyable opportunity to mix with guests and share our local knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed staying with Faye, Lindsay (and Zak), so much so that we stayed with them twice. Their facilities are second to none and the welcome was genuinely warm and friendly. We stayed at b and bs almost exclusively during our 6 week stay in NZ, mainly so that we could meet local people and benefit from their knowledge. Nowhere were our hosts more helpful. Lindsay effectively saved us a day. We had planned our trip in such a way that we could only afford to spend one night in Dunedin but he spent time redrafting our route so that we visited everything we wanted to and yet were able to spend two nights in Dunedin. Helpfully he also, on our map of Christchurch, marked out the roads which were open which saved us a great deal of trouble. Lovely people. If all b and bs were like this wouldn't it be great?

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room which was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It's great to have guests return to stay with us. It confirms to us that we are doing it right. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stays at Finlay Banks. We do try to make guests stays as comfortable and welcoming as possible. it is good the stay at a place and be able to relax and consider yourself at home. We really enjoy helping guests discover the hidden treasures of New Zealand and assist them in their travels. We look forward to a third visit to renew our friendship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
5.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing