We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Hosts, Memorable Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 139 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Wonderful Hosts, Memorable Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent the first and last nights of our honeymoon at Finlay Banks and enjoyed our stay very much! Fay and Lindsay (and their doggy Zac) were great hosts, and we especially appreciated Lindsay driving us to Christchurch's city centre to show us the aftermath of the quake. The couple also shared their family photos with us and made the experience truly personal. Now that's all above a beautiful home, clean rooms and a sumptuous breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aarongrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
We are glad you both enjoyed our personal style of hosting. We endeavour to make our guests stay as memorable as we can. Thank you for your kind words. we look forward to your return visit to explore more of our wonderful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
103
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Well, where to start ! Fay and Lindsay are such a lovely couple, and run the best B&B we stayed at in our 3 week tour of NZ. Their house is very well designed, and they happily throw it open so that you get a real homestay experience. They were as enthusiastic to have us there as we were to be there. The bedrooms and bathrooms are equipped better than just about any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in.
Lindsay very kindly picked us up from the station when we returned from Greymouth, and ran us to the airport when it was time to leave. We also arranged to dine with Fay and Lindsay on our last night in NZ, and what a treat that was ! I could hear no crashing of pots, and suddenly Fay brings out, what had to be the best meal we ate in NZ...not sure how you do it all so calmly Fay !
You are a great couple, who run a top quality B&B, and my only feedback to you both is, carry on doing what you're doing, don't change a thing.....it was perfect in every way !

Mark & Anna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownieHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in our home. We enjoy every opportunity to welcome new guests to share our home. Your kind words reinforce the quality experience that we aim to provide to all of our guests. We don't have sea or mountain views but pride ourselves on the quality, service and personal experience offered to all guests. We enjoy the company of guests dining with us and this becomes a highlight of their holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying with Fay, Lindsay and Zac. The house is located in a nice area, the room was clean and beautiful and breakfast delicious. Fay and Lindsay's knowledge about Christchurch helped us a lot with our plans and their company was delightful.
Would be happy to stay there again and recommend the place to anyone who enjoys great service and a warm feeling of staying at a friend's home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlgaS200413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are pleased that you both enjoyed your stay in our home. We pride ourselves on offering a quality and personal service. Breakfast is an enjoyable opportunity to mix with guests and share our local knowledge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We really enjoyed staying with Faye, Lindsay (and Zak), so much so that we stayed with them twice. Their facilities are second to none and the welcome was genuinely warm and friendly. We stayed at b and bs almost exclusively during our 6 week stay in NZ, mainly so that we could meet local people and benefit from their knowledge. Nowhere were our hosts more helpful. Lindsay effectively saved us a day. We had planned our trip in such a way that we could only afford to spend one night in Dunedin but he spent time redrafting our route so that we visited everything we wanted to and yet were able to spend two nights in Dunedin. Helpfully he also, on our map of Christchurch, marked out the roads which were open which saved us a great deal of trouble. Lovely people. If all b and bs were like this wouldn't it be great?

Room Tip: We had the upstairs room which was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
It's great to have guests return to stay with us. It confirms to us that we are doing it right. We are pleased that you enjoyed both your stays at Finlay Banks. We do try to make guests stays as comfortable and welcoming as possible. it is good the stay at a place and be able to relax and consider yourself at home. We really enjoy helping guests discover the hidden treasures of New Zealand and assist them in their travels. We look forward to a third visit to renew our friendship.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conflans Sainte Honorine, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fay and Lindsay are really nice and lovely people. The house is beautiful, clean and well located in a nice neighborhood, near the river Avon. They told us a lot about the city and the country. And the breakfasts are very good. We had a great time in Christchurch with them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AurelieBaptiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are pleased that the start to your honeymoon was pleasurable. It was our pleasure to be your hosts. Our quality standard is important to us. Breakfast is the opportunity to share information with our guests about our city and country. We take pride in providing in our home made breakfasts. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The word "boutique" is often misused when referring to b&b's but not in this case.

Great care to detail & attention is evident throughout the house and garden.
Lindsay met us on arrival at the airport and the next day drove us to the railway station for our journey to Arthur's Pass.

On arrival Fay had a tray of home baking.
Breakfast is not to be missed with a good selection of fruits, breads cereals plus a cooked breakfast of your choice.

The b&b is in a good location, close to highway 1, the airport and the local bus service.
The Palms shopping centre and restaurants are only a few minutes walk away.

Lindsay who is in the police will copy maps to show you the best routes to take. With all the roadworks taking place after the earthquake this can be of great assistance.

Bedroom, lounge & dinning room are all first class. Very comfortable bed.

We stayed three nights on arrival and one night before leaving

.A first class standard through-out.

Room Tip: We were in the first bedroon on the left upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghTartanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We do try to make guests feel as though have arrived at home. Our location as you say is perfect for restaurants, visiting the city and driving into or out of the city. We were pleased to be your hosts, and that the friendship we developed during your stay will last our lifetime. We look forward to meeting again in Edinburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A superb b and b. We were made to feel very welcome in this beautiful house. Meeting Zak as well as Fay and Lindsay was a real pleasure - they are great hosts. The food was excellent – breakfast was a delight. Great attention to detail is evident throughout the accommodation. A very good location for visiting Christchurch. I would recommend this as a stay not to miss.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Our aim is always to offer a comfortable and relaxing stay for our guests. That includes starting the day with a good breakfast shared with us. We have a good location from which to visit the city centre(4.5km) or for day trips around our region. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.0 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#4 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.9 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 148 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
5.5 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#5 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 139 in Christchurch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Property: Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing