We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel Like Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 135 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our visit in Finley Banks B&B. We were dropped by taxi after a 30 hour trip from France. Fay and Lindsay welcomed us with superb food and hospitality, the room was just perfect and we really appreciate the attention of our host. We were felling like home and it was really nice to fell like that after such a long trip. We had a nice conversation with Fay and Lindsay
The perfect start for a wonderful discover of New Zealand...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goulven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do like to make guests feel as though they have come home. It certainly makes for an enjoyable and restful stay. It is important to us that guests start the day with a plentiful breakfast to see them through. Thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
There are newer reviews for Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 139 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

We've bed and breakfasted in Canada, South Africa, Australia and the UK. This was the best ever. Fay and Lindsay were charming, caring, knowledgeable and modestly proud of their regenerating city.
From picking us up at the car rental office to dropping us off at the airport they could not have been more helpful. A lovely room, magnificent breakfasts, delightful doggy, excellent restaurant and trip recommendations. Sublime.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yougottalaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

We enjoy sharing our home and city. We are enthusiastic about the rebuild and the future of our city. We look forward to the return of guests to view the new city after the rebuild. We always endeavor to assist guests with local information on the sights to see. We take pride in providing a warm and friendly service. We thank you for your kind and supportive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

A fantastic start and end to our New Zealand holiday. Fay and Lindsay welcomed us into their home - and it was home from home, the warmest welcome after such a long trip. Excellent facilities, luxurious room, superb food and hospitality that made us feel part of the family, we could not fault anything and would recommend it to anyone staying in Christchurch. We will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

You were both great company and we were sad to see you leave. We look forward to your return to Christchurch. Finlay Banks will always be your home away from home, where you can relax and enjoy our lovely city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Too short a visit for this wonderful B&B. Lovely breakfast, a very informative and comfortable conversation of the dramatic history of the city. Very hospitable hosts, inviting you into their home. And a nice dog as well!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0bbie1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

It was our pleasure to be your hosts. We enjoyed your company as much as you enjoyed ours. It is unfortunate that most guests only allow 1 day for Christchurch. There is lots to see and do around the city and region. Christchurch is buzzing with excitement and activity since the earthquakes. We look forward to meeting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A wonderful friendly welcome, followed by very helpful information. A really comfortable, clean accommodation, we would gladly return and are happy to recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Service and hospitality is first class. My plane was 4 hours late, but I was greeted by Lindsay and made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and quiet, breakfast was great. The impression I got from the web site was that Fay and Lindsay offered accommodation with a warm personal touch. I was not disappointed. As a single traveller I really appreciated the help & advice they gave.Would recommend to anyone who wants a home away from home travel experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks for the kind words Karen. It is reassuring to us that our website accurately portrays us and our style of B&B hosting. Our aim is to provide our guests with a very personal kiwi experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First impression last! We had lost our way and was late in arriving at the campervan office but our host Lindsay was patiently waiting to pick us up. The place was awesome with Fay and Zac extending the warm & homely welcome. We enjoyed the room and had a good sleep after 12 days on the campervan trips. Breakfast was yummy! Our exploration of Christchurch was great given that we had only one day. Both our host provide us with map, guides and suggestion of places to visit. The standard of hospitality and cleanliness match a five star hotel. Thanks for the courtesy transfer to the airport despite the busyness.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina_Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Where possible we are happy to assist with transfers to and from our home. It was our pleasure to introduce you both to the B&B experience, which is a great choice for accommodation. As you said it is a personal and friendly service that is missing from other types of accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
635 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,346 reviews
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 135 in Christchurch
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#2 of 135 in Christchurch
648 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 135 in Christchurch
375 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#1 of 135 in Christchurch
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 135 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $119 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing