We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Linda an Glen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2012

A wonderful friendly welcome, followed by very helpful information. A really comfortable, clean accommodation, we would gladly return and are happy to recommend this accommodation to anyone visiting Christchurch.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 149 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Service and hospitality is first class. My plane was 4 hours late, but I was greeted by Lindsay and made to feel very welcome. The room was very comfortable and quiet, breakfast was great. The impression I got from the web site was that Fay and Lindsay offered accommodation with a warm personal touch. I was not disappointed. As a single traveller I really appreciated the help & advice they gave.Would recommend to anyone who wants a home away from home travel experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Thanks for the kind words Karen. It is reassuring to us that our website accurately portrays us and our style of B&B hosting. Our aim is to provide our guests with a very personal kiwi experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

First impression last! We had lost our way and was late in arriving at the campervan office but our host Lindsay was patiently waiting to pick us up. The place was awesome with Fay and Zac extending the warm & homely welcome. We enjoyed the room and had a good sleep after 12 days on the campervan trips. Breakfast was yummy! Our exploration of Christchurch was great given that we had only one day. Both our host provide us with map, guides and suggestion of places to visit. The standard of hospitality and cleanliness match a five star hotel. Thanks for the courtesy transfer to the airport despite the busyness.

Room Tip: Both rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelina_Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Where possible we are happy to assist with transfers to and from our home. It was our pleasure to introduce you both to the B&B experience, which is a great choice for accommodation. As you said it is a personal and friendly service that is missing from other types of accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Thank you Fay and Lindsay for your hospitality. You are wonderfull people. We enjoyed our stay with you very much. We felt we were at home.
Breakfast was great and we liked the perfect details in the room.
Next time we will stay longer than one night.
So people don't hasitate and book if you want to stay in Christchurch or if you want to visit Akaroa.
Leonie and Roy, Naarden the Netherlands

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

We also enjoy the shared breakfasts. It is a great time to catch up with guests and share information on the sights to see around Christchurch, or to relive the places seen on their holiday around New Zealand. We are pleased we met all your expectations during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Enjoyed our recent holiday in New Zealand and our stay at Finlay Banks. The room we stayed in was very clean and nicely decorated and furnished. Was quite a nice welcome and the bed was so comfortable that we had a peaceful nights sleep after our travels. Breakfast time with Fay and Lindsay was nice, they are such a nice couple very friendly and easy going. We were shocked to see the amount of devastation that had occurred in Christchurch due to the earthquakes and it was always a topic that we discussed and it was hard to avoid as the sights were confronting but Faye & Lindsay still discussed the issue with us and informed us of places to see. Had a very nice and pleasant stay and their pet dog Zack is soo adorable you hardly know his there but his so cute. Overall a very great place to stay...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks Vina for the kind words. It always good to hear that the bed is comfortable and guests get a good nights sleep, especially after being couped up in an aircraft. Christchurch has suffered a lot from the earthquake, but nows the time to positively look forward and watch a new city rise from the rubble. It is now part of our history which we are more than happy to discuss with guests. There is so much else to see and do in Christchurch and the surrounding areas that will fill the days in. We love to talk about our city and advise guests on the best places to go.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In some ways it was fortunate that our Heli-hike at Fox Glacier was cancelled due to bad weather as we then searched for a B&B in Christchurch through Tripadvisor.
We arrived that afternoon to a warm welcome from Fay & Lindsay. The next day, after a hearty breakfast with our hosts, we set of to explore the devastion to Christchurch by the 2 earthquakes.
If it were not for Fay & Lindsay I doubt whether we could have really understood what took place. They lent us books, provided maps, pinpointed areas to visit & made it all so easy, that we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay.
The room was cosy & comfortable & up to my wife's standard of cleanliness, the breakfasts hearty & the hosts informative, charming & helpful.
What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gogobrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Good fortune came to both of us. We enjoyed your company at Finlay Banks. As part of our hospitality we like to assist guests finding there way around our city, to take in the highlights and see the new city emerging. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We loved staying at Finlay Banks, the room was so comfortable and we slept like logs. Faye's cooking was superb - we enjoyed the breakfasts and the evening meals were superb and they made us feel really at home. Faye & Lindsay were so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, how many people would be prepared to take us to the airport at 3.0am as Lindsay did? We even experienced a 3.2 tremor which gave us an insight as to how the people of Christchurch must feel each time it occurs.

Room Tip: We only saw 1 room as the other was being decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to review your experience at Finlay Banks. Hospitality is what we enjoy doing. You both were like family friends rather than guests. Where possible we will provide courtesy transfers to our guests to make their stay more enjoyable. Our decorating is all finished and the room is available for many more guests. Thank you again for choosing Finlay Banks, it was our pleasure to be your hosts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.9 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#2 of 146 in Christchurch
699 reviews
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#8 of 141 in Christchurch
40 reviews
2.2 mi away
Orari Bed & Breakfast
Orari Bed & Breakfast
#6 of 141 in Christchurch
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $120 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing