We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, lovely stay and delicious breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 138 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stay at Finlay Banks B&B for just one night but we really enjoyed the whole experience!
They pay attention to the smallest details such as fresh flowers in the bedroom and great taste in decor. Cleanliness was spotless to my standards, great shower and a VERY comfortable bed (with a electric blanket!). And the service itself is an above-the-standards hospitality and delicious home-made breakfast. I really recommend this place as I am more of a get-to-know-the-locals person than a 5-star-hotel-cold-formal guest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thanks for submitting a review and we hope that it will be for helpful to others wishing to have a genuine kiwi experience, with genuine hospitality. We pride ourselves on providing a top service to our guests and making it your home away from home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 141 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2012

We cannot say thank you enough for the great, genuine and friendly service. From the moment we were met at the airport we were overwhelmed with the best of Kiwi hospitality.
The room was lovely, confortable and warm. The breakfast was more than generous and hosts Fay and Lindsay couldn't be more helpful about what to do and were to go in Christchurch.
Without a doubt we'd stay there again if we had the opportunity. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Thanks Michelle for the kind words. Hope your first visit to the snow and skiing went ok. We would welcome you back at any time. Next time spend more time in Christchurch. Even though we have had the earthquakes, the city is still alive with plenty to see and do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

If we need accommodation in Christchurch we would definitely stay again, the room was lovely and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast with homemade muesli and fruit was something that would also make me want to return. A great stay will lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trisha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Your complementary review is appreciated . When you return to Christchurch your comfortable bed and homemade breakfast awaits you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Thank you Fay and Lindsay for a welcoming and friendly stay at your B&B. The muesli at breakfast was superb and the dinner also wonderful. My bed was very comfy and my room clean and fresh. Located close to the inner city but very quiet and relaxing. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaye_Luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Thanks for the kinds words. We are pleased that we exceeded your expectations. The home made breakfast produce has been appreciated by all our guests. Our shared evening dining option offers an enjoyable time for guests to get to know one another and share travelling experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Staying with Fay & Lindsay was one of the best decisions during our trip. The two are so wonderful, you feel welcome and at home from the first second you step into their house. We very much enjoyed the breakfasts - not just the excellent food including home baked muffins but also the conversations about Christchurch, NZ, people, culture and everything we wanted to know. The room was very cosy and clean with a new and very spacious bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2012

Thanks for the comments. It is great to know we have achieved our goal of creating a home away from home atmosphere. It has always been our aim, to make guests feel welcome and relaxed. We always enjoy the opportunity of sharing a home made breakfast and knowledgeable conversation with our guests. New Zealand is a wonderful country and a great place to visit. Christchurch in particular really needs travellers to return. We encourage people to stay a while and not bypass our city. Spend some time and take in the rebuild. To make it a more memorable stay know that we have some great bed and breakfast accommodation available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Highly recommend ...beautiful rooms..hearty and delicious breaky..walking distance to shops......transfers airport....Fay and Lindsay were wonderful ,warm and their knowledge of the South Island helped us have the best Drive Bye holiday....Julie and Pete (Sydney).

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2012

Thanks for the comments Julie. We both enjoyed your stay and company with us. Although it was a short stay we felt as though we were old friends. Look forward to meeting again and sharing a bottle of wine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Peaceful and quiet location within a short walk to shopping and restaurants. Helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinlayBanks, Owner at Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your positive feed back. All of our guests, like you, have commented on our convenient location to both shopping and wonderful restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.1 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
666 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,393 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
The Grange Guesthouse & Motel
#2 of 138 in Christchurch
868 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 138 in Christchurch
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast

Address: 7 Banks Avenue | Burwood, Christchurch 8061, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $113 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality home hosted accommodation in an architecturally designed family home with two superior en-suite guest rooms. Enjoy genuine kiwi hospitality, delicious continental breakfasts and home cooked evening meals by arrangement. Centrally located to shops, restaurants, bars and theatres. The ideal base for regional day trips, for arrivals and departures from your South Island holiday or while in the area on business. Finlay Banks is a smoke free and child free property with off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Finlay Banks Boutique Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing