We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday Wine Trip Waipara”

Discovery Travel Day Tours
Ranked #16 of 90 Tours in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Christchurch based tour operator offering small group, day tours to Akaroa, Waipara wineries, Arthurs Pass, Kaikoura, and Hanmer Springs, giving you a very personalized tour. Cruise ship tours from Akaroa are also available. Activities such as whale watching, swimming with dolphins, TranzAlpine Train, thermal pools, spa treatments, jet boating, and wine tastings are all on offer. Private charters for 2 people to 200 people are also available.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Birthday Wine Trip Waipara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

For my birthday my friends organised a Wine Trip. We were picked up from my house by our driver John, who was just awesome. We could listen to our own music in the van which was great for our trip out to North Canterbury. Our 1st stop was at a beautiful wiinery where we were treated to lots of lovely wine tastings and even cheese and crackers from John our driver. Next stop was lunch at Waipara Springs. with a entree' of wine tastings and lunch was a beautiful platter filled with cheeses, cold meats, breads, etc just amazing, we had lots of laughs around the table set outside in lovely surroundings. Next stop was to another amazing winery for more tastings. Last stop was at the mud house. With more tastings and coffee it was a great way to end a fab day. We could purchase wine to take home. John was able to drop us off at our place of choice. I would totally recommend this. It was such value for money and we still love to talk about it

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Farmgirl1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“Best value for money day out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Jon picked us up on time and was just amazing. You could say he has found his calling as a tour guide. We went to 4 amazing vineyards and where able to have wine tasting at all of them. We where given as much knowledge we wanted about all the different wines the people at the vineyards had amazing knowledge. The platter lunches we had, blew our expectations of what we where going to get. Was an amazing selection of food and was cook perfect! Jon made the trip easy going and he was very friendly and welcoming. He dropped us where we wanted to go. We had an amazing birthday outing which in our view value for money and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending to others. Thanks so much Discovery Travel Day Tours for an amazing day. Jon was magic!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BridgitC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Waipara Wine Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently had a 'hen day' wine tour. We went to four wineries during the day. it was an excellent day. Our bus driver was fantastic, he was organised and friendly. I reccommend this tour to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BridgitF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Swimming with Dolphins insteed of Whale Watching”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We want to make the Whale watching Tour, but the whales are so far, that the tour was cancelled. But insteed our guide John Carter propose to do the Swimming Dolphins Tour and it was an amazing day. We saw nearly 200 dolphins and the kids are swimming around them. It was a great day!
Thank you John. It was our last day in New Zealand and it was a good day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanneJ295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the Water
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The only way to go to Christchurch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Docking in Akaroa, we wanted to visit Christchurch. Found Discovery Travel Day Tours and was glad we booked with them. John picked us up at the pier and we drove to Christchurch via the most beautiful scenery. John was an excellent tour guide and the information was wonderful. In Christchurch we had time to visit the Botanical Gardens, have lunch, and walk around. After Christchurch, we visited a small winery and had one of the best tastings and information on wines ever!!! Discovery Travel Day Tours was almost the same price as the ships shuttle (fifty people). On our bus we had eight and did so much more!! Thank you John and Jo for a wonderful afternoon in beautiful New Zealand!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beanie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Travel Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Discovery Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing