We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Discovery Travel Day Tours

Discovery Travel Day Tours
Ranked #16 of 89 Tours in Christchurch
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Christchurch based tour operator offering small group, day tours to Akaroa, Waipara wineries, Arthurs Pass, Kaikoura, and Hanmer Springs, giving you a very personalized tour. Cruise ship tours from Akaroa are also available. Activities such as whale watching, swimming with dolphins, TranzAlpine Train, thermal pools, spa treatments, jet boating, and wine tastings are all on offer. Private charters for 2 people to 200 people are also available.
Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
1 review
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband John and I took your tour of Akaroa on 6 Sept 2012. It was just him, me and one other person besides our guide, Jon.

What a delightful day! Jon was very knowledgeable and pleasant. He picked a terrific restaurant in Akaroa to eat at, the best salmon my husband ever had, and he's eaten a LOT of salmon. The seas were too rough to take the harbor tour so Jon promptly refunded that part of the trip and gave us a very interesting and in depth tour of the Red Zone in Christchurch.

Thank you, Jon, for making it a memorable day for us. I will highly recommend this tour to anyone!

K
Scottsdale, AZ

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rozelle, Australia
2 reviews
“Excellent, we did almost all the tours available.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

They personalised all our tours for us. The cars were comfortable and ontime every time. We stopped frequently for the perfect photo moments - Whale watching at Kaikoura was incredible, fantastic weather and we had crayfish for lunch overlooking the water. It snowed on us in the hot pools at Hanmer Springs - the perfect touch. John and Jo even tracked down a bottle of wine we had been looking for. We also did the Arthers Pass tour, Waipara Valley, Trans Alpine Train, an afternoon wine tour, we saw a baby and mum dolphine on the cruise. I'd recommend this business to everyone.
We'll be back over again next year.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jane d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arther Pass
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

非常完美的市區半日遊, 以及南阿爾卑斯山的一日遊. 導遊約翰的旅遊計畫周詳, 免除了一些
枯燥無味的行程. 接送都非常準時, 解說也非常仔細. 非常值得推薦.
We had a wonderful half day city tour in Christchurch and also an entire day's tour to Arthur Pass guided by John. John's tour plan is so perfect that we see the best part of Christchurch, Littelton, and the Souther Alpine. We even have a very nice hiking to the Hinekakai Waterfall at Arthur pass and touch the freezing clear water flow in the lovely stream. When driving back to Christchurch from Arthur Pass, John stopped at various places for us to view the wonderful scenery and to take beautiful pictures. If we just took the TranzAlpine train from Christchurch to Greymouth and return, we would not have such personal opportunity to "touch" the nature of the beautiful South Island. Thanks to John. We would be happy to recommend his Discovery Tour to anyone who wants to visit Christchurch.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Everichyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

SIx of us did three day tours with Discovery Travel. We went to Hanmer Springs and Waipara Valley wine tour, the Trans Alpine Train and Arthur's Pass, and Akoroa. John was excellent as our tour driver. He took care of every detail, was always on time, and made sure we didn't miss a thing. He took the time to show us things that we would have missed on our own. He always made sure that we were where we needed to be at the proper time, he put up with us after visits to 4 different wineries, he helped explain the history of the area and really gave us a good view of the areas around Christchurch.

He exceeded all expectations for our group and if you need a driver for a day trip for your group, Discovery travel is the one to go with. The small group trip was excellent for us as our group can be somewhat overwhelming when we all get together. Throw some wine into the mix and we are quite noisy and yet he took it all in stride. Thanks John.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I, and two other couples from the states did three day tours with Discovery Travel, Hanmer Springs and wineries, Arthur's Pass, and Akoroa. John, our driver, was great. He took care of every detail, was always on time, and made sure we didn't miss a thing. He had a wonderful sense of humor and helped make the time in the shuttle pass effortlessly. By the end of the third day we felt like we were traveling with an old friend. I can't say enough great things about Discovery Travel and John. He made sure that our journey to New Zealand was wonderful and memorable.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BobC1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Travel Day Tours also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Discovery Travel Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing