We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice people, convenient location”
Review of Airport Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 132 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“nice people, convenient location”
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Deb & Alan were very friendly, welcoming and accommodating! Their kids blended in very easily too. I had to do an early check-in and a late check-out. They provide transportation to and from airport. There is a bus stop a few houses down. The location is great, it is just minutes from the airport but one wouldn't know as there is no takeoff noise. It is close to a park and a shopping center. If you drive on Harewood you will find the shopping center within few minutes. If you drive a little further to Papanui then you will find many restaurants with various cuisines. The neighborhood is quiet. The house is great. I needed a voltage converter and they let me borrow theirs for my entire trip of two weeks, even though I stayed there for only two nights! We had nice conversations. I enjoyed my stay and the time I spent with them! I wholeheartedly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kishores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb283, Owner at Airport Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
It was easy to make you welcome - thank you for writing this review - it all helps other travellers.
Come again one day.
Regards
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
17
30
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I only stayed one night but I was pleased I chose here. Alan, the friendly owner, went out of his way to pick me up from Christchurch and then got up to take me to the airport (5-10 mins away) for 4am - and that's included in the price too.
The accommodation itself is within the family home but distinct. I paid for a single room but got upgraded to a twin which was bright and clean. A separate modern bathroom had all you could want. I was also able to use their computer and free internet.
I didn't need breakfast so couldn't comment on that but I had a peaceful night's slepp and all in all I was very pleased to have stayed there and felt well looked after.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb283, Owner at Airport Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 19, 2016
Thank you Emma for taking the time to write a review for us.
It was a pleasure to have you stay.
Unfortunately we now charge for airport pick ups and drop offs as the Airport Authority charge us.
Come again one day.
Regards
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

I had an amazing 3 night stay at the Airport Guesthouse. After the recent earthquakes I did wonder whether I should cancel my stay in Christchurch but I am so glad I didn’t. The guesthouse is on the outskirts of Christchurch and has suffered no damage. It is conveniently located close to Christchurch airport and a nice shopping centre. There is also a pleasant garden centre and New Zealand clothing outlet just a short walk away. Alan and Deb made me feel very welcome, the bedroom and bathroom were very attractive. They include free pick-up/drop-off from the airport and a wonderful continental breakfast. The house has a pretty garden overlooking open fields. There is also a nice park across the road where I was able to walk their well behaved chocolate Labrador – Izzy. I was travelling on my own but Deb and Alan made me feel part of their family. I would strongly recommend the Airport Guesthouse for a welcoming stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deb283, Owner at Airport Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Pleasure to have you in our home - please come back.
Deb
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.1 mi away
Sudima Hotel Christchurch Airport
1.1 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
1.0 mi away
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
JUCY Snooze Christchurch Airport
#8 of 103 in Christchurch
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Airport Palms Motel
Airport Palms Motel
#1 of 144 in Christchurch
712 reviews
1.1 mi away
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge
#8 of 144 in Christchurch
1,258 reviews
1.2 mi away
M&Y Guest House (Christchurch Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Guesthouse

Property: Airport Guesthouse
Address: 283 Wooldridge Road | Harewood, Christchurch 8051, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to open our home as a relaxed 'family' atmosphere B n B/Guesthouse. Our guest share bathroom facilities are warm, clean & tidy. As are our bedrooms. Use of our kitchen &/or BBQ area is free of charge. Meals can be pre-arranged for a small fee. Complimentary Continental Breakfast of fruit & cereals, croissants/toast & homemade raspberry jam or marmalade, Tea/Coffee is inclusive 6am to 10am - (limited supply prior to 6am). We are close (3mins) to Christchurch International Airport and a small fee of $10 is charged for pick up or drop off. Our AIRPORT GUESTHOUSE is close to resturants & takeaway food outlets & close to a bus service to get you into the city centre which is about 20 mins. Our WIFI is free to guests. Regards Deb & Alan Jackson ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Airport Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing