We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay and excellent breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 140 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room for 1 night.

The room itself, although nicely decorated, with the most comfortable bed, did not fully meet our expectations for those reasons : we found it to be a little small ; there is no veiling, meaning anyone in the garden could see us unless we shut the curtains; and the bathroom (although very nice and spacious) is outside the room.

Despite that, the Lilac Rose remains an excellent B&B in our opinion. The house is very cosy and comfortable. It is perfectly located in Christchurch. The garden is lovely. The hosts, Dennis and Pam, are naturally welcoming and helpful. They have the cuttest dog. And breakfast was one of the best we had during our 3 weeks stay in NZ.

Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

71 - 77 of 302 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Lilac Rose Boutique B&B in October 2013 in the Attic Room. Pam and Dennis were very kind and welcoming and were able to give my wife and I dinner recommendations on the water at Sumner since we wanted a good view before we flew back home :) The room was very nice and clean with a private bathroom. Also, the location was great for us, as we were only in Christchurch for one night and the next morning we had to wake up early and drive to the airport (the airport is only 5-7 min away). We highly recommend Lilac Rose to anyone choosing to stay in the Christchurch area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We spent our first night in New Zealand at lilac rose and had a great stay. Lovely warm greeting, and the very welcome sight of Maddie the dog, and a cold glass of wine. The room was gorgeous, as we're the gardens along with a lovely, spacious en-suite. After an excellent nights sleep we had enjoyed a lovely breakfast of eggs benedict (our best breakfast in our month away), a dip in the hot tub and then we were on our way feeling relaxed and delighted with our first night choice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Beautiful home, wonderful homely atmosphere, well behaved dog, welcoming hosts, glass of wine, beautifully decorated bedrooms, comfortable beds, wonderful breakfasts...... What is there not to like, just wonderful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_Shillito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I haven't needed to stay in Christchurch and so hadn't been back to the Lilac Rose for about a year. I have so missed it.Greeted with the offer of a cup of tea and a friand. It was like coming home!. it is the perfect place to relax. Pam and Denis are so welcoming . I stayed in a beautiful room with ensuite, comfy bed, fabulous breakfast as always. Thank you guys, see you next year!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Lilac Rose is very well located in Christchurch, it is an old villa style house. Our room had the ensuite bathroom, was big enough and nice and has all the amenities needed.
The hosts are nice an helpful people always ready for a Chat or any question you might have.
The breakfast is a buffet of serials and yogurt an alle menu of warm dishes that are freshly prepared. I had the eggs Benedikt and they were all great.
Good place to go in Christchurch.
Though you need to be very ok with dog hairs!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of our NZ tour. The gardens were gorgeous, rooms were good size for a few nights. Hosts were welcoming and Maddie the dog is cute and gentle.
Pams knowledge of good restaurants was fab (Italians in merrivale named Tutto Benne is great. If you want to go you have to book as its very busy)
Good selection at breakfast but for us the bacon too fatty and poached eggs overcooked.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
673 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
The George Christchurch
The George Christchurch
#5 of 146 in Christchurch
1,410 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 140 in Christchurch
654 reviews
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 140 in Christchurch
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $104 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing