We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 141 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The Garden Room has an amazingly comfortable bed - the softest I've ever slept in. The breakfast was delicious, and the menu was a great touch. Pam and Denis were very helpful - Denis picked us up at the airport and dropped us off. And they have a very cute dog!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 304 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Our night at Lilac Rose was the perfect kick off to our holiday! A beautiful B+B with very friendly and welcoming hosts who went out of their way to make our stay a relaxing and enjoyable one. We would definitely stay there again and have already been recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graham_k_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed 1 night at Lilac Rose and had a very restful time after our flight from Singapore. We chose the garden room, though it was a small, it was very cosy with our large personal bathroom just an adjacent door away from the bedroom. Denis and Pam were lovely hosts, very attentive and yet gave us enough space. Maddie, their dog, was the first to greet us with a heartwarming welcome at the gate. Melted away the flight fatigue immediately! Location is convenient, under 9 minutes from the airport. The living room has a lovely fireplace and the whole house is so warmly decorated. We were still in Singapore time ( 4 hours behind NZ time ) and we ended up waking up really late for breakfast, sorry Pam! We were still able to enjoy a leisurely and delicious full breakfast with the best eggs benedict ever.

Overall, beautiful home, lovely hosts, very accommodating and helpful with weather tips, places to visit and enjoy a very beautiful, friendly country.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I arrived late on a Friday after multiple trip delays, and Dennis was lovely enough to come and pick us up from the airport to bring us back to their B&B. The Lilac Rose is a beautiful historic home that has been renovated beautifully. Our room was cosy and charming, very comfortable, with all that we required (including a small refrigerator). Our bathroom was located next door, but was not shared, and was really wonderful with heated floors, and towel bars, and a lovely shower. Pam and Dennis gave us several recommendations of places within walking distance for supper, and our Indian dinner at the Maharajah was really delicious. The next morning we had interesting conversations with the other couples staying at the B&B in the breakfast area, which was bright, and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious, freshly cooked for us as we talked. We were sad to have to leave the next day, but know if we come back we'll have a great place to stay!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Charming hosts and very comfortable accomodation. The lovely heritage home is a pleasure to be in, quiet peaceful surrounds yet easy to get to city and gardens. Don't miss the Bot garden and Mona Vale garden

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Can only really add my own endorsement of the great things already said on here about Lilac Rose. We stayed here twice on our trip around the South Island, once in the Mulberry room and the 2nd time in the Attic room. Both were lovely and comfortable with quality furnishings and 'consumables'.
Dennis and Pam are both very friendly and seem to attract the sort of guests with whom you can feel very relaxed having a chat over breakfast (great food of course). We came here initially straight from the airport and rather than giving in to jet lag we borrowed a couple of bikes and cycled into the centre of Christchurch using the map and instructions provided - a really nice traffic-free route alongside an old railway line just up the road from the B&B.
We also tried the excellent Indian restaurant a short stroll away as this had also been recommended by Dennis & Pam. This was also excellent though food was generally not as spicy as UK Indians (but then I am from Leicester!).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCMike54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

A beautifully presented B&B. The owners are friendly, making it feel like a home away from home. The Mulberry room was spacious and had a nice ensuite. The attic room was smaller and a shared bathroom. Both were clean, warm and comfortable. Breakfast was was of a high standard with a good choice of alternatives.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryu1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.8 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.5 mi away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
702 reviews
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 141 in Christchurch
284 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 141 in Christchurch
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $108 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing