We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to go if you are landing late in Christchurch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 138 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast is the place to go if you are landing late in Christchurch. It is near the airport, but located in a nice quiet part of the town.

It is the perfect place to crash for 2 days to get over the long trip from Europe or America.

The host are great, very nice and ready to get up at insane hours to make your check-in.

It is far from the town center but with the accomodation problem in Christchurch right now, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 302 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent 2 days at the Lilac Rose at the beginning of our holiday to New Zealand. We were collected from the airport by Dennis having just stepped off a flight from Singapore, being a bit tired and travel weary. We were at the Lilac Rose within minutes and settled into our room (Garden room). Both Pam and Dennis were very welcoming and made us a cup of tea and shared some cake, as we started to unwind. The room was lovely and the bed one of the most comfortable we have slept in away from home. Pam and Dennis were there when you needed them, and also left you alone when you didnt. They gave good advice on places to eat and travel into Christchurch, and the breakfast was superb. A definite recommendation

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flocktonfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Lilac Rose was the first stop on our honeymoon trip and we were blown away! The house is nestled in a beautiful garden and is equally breathtaking on the outside, as it is on the inside. Pam and Dennis have done an amazing job decorating and are excellent hosts! They were not only very hospitable, but also very helpful at the same time.

We stayed in the Garden Room and we could not have been happier - the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was impeccable! Breakfast was also very delicious - kudos to the duo for being such great chefs! We were lucky enough to spend some time in their garden as well and it was definitely worth it - Pam and Dennis have maintained it so well. Dog lovers should not miss out on some playtime with friendly Maddie as well! The Lilac Rose deserves it's #1 ranking and we highly recommend it to everyone :)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhavna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We just left Lilac Rose B&B after spending a night there. We found our short stay to be most enjoyable. The place is spotless and obviously well-maintained. Pam and Dennis were accommodating hosts. We stayed in the attic room which we found quiet and comfortable so long as we took care around the steeply slanted ceilings. If you are tall, this might not be the room for you. The bed may have been the most comfortable one we've ever slept in.
Breakfast was also very nice with nice choices including cooked-to-order by Dennis. Their 8-mo. old Golden Retriever, Mattie (sp?) also made herself available as an assistant hostess, but mostly was around to have her belly scratched.
All-in-all, we would not hesitate to recommend Lilac Rose Boutique B&B to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely hosts and a beautiful house. Bed was super comfy, perfect for getting over jet lag on. Breakfast was excellent, especially the eggs benedict!
...................................................................

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjiebarjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Pam and Dennis are wonderful hosts, and provided a special place to stay, with outstanding service, for our 3 night stay in Christchurch. Their home is very comfortable and surrounded by a beautiful garden. Dennis provided multiple rides for us, both from the airport and for two of our train rides (we rode the TranzAlpine and also the Coastal Pacific), and even accomodated our early train departures. Their breakfasts were delicious and Pam packed homemade snacks for our train rides--cookies and muffins! We stayed in the Garden Room, which is not ensuite but has a large, well appointed private bathroom just a step out the door. The hallway is fairly private and bathrobes are provided to make the dash to and from the shower. The home is well located in a quiet residential area, and convenient to the bus service for travel downtown. We enjoyed the museum and botanical garden downtown, as well as the imaginative "Restore" shopping area constructed from shipping containers.
I highly recommend the Lilac Rose for an enjoyable Christchurch stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJislandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at Lilac Rose twice during our travels of New Zealand and the second time we arrived Pam and Dennis (and their beautiful dog Maddie) welcomed us back as old friends. The house is delightful with a gorgeous rose garden. We stayed in both the Garden Room and the Mulberry Room, both furnished beautifully. On our first stay Dennis was kind enough to pick us up from the airport and then the next morning, at an ungodly hour, happily took us to the train station for our TranzAlpine journey. This service was definitely above and beyond our expectations and we were so very grateful. The breakfasts were delicious, and the coffee and biscuits on arrival were very welcome. Lilac Rose is close to restaurants and the bus if you need to travel the short journey into Christchurch. We cannot recommend Lilac Rose highly enough. Don't look anywhere else if you are looking at visiting Christchurch.

Room Tip: The Mulberry Room would be my recommendation as we had no trouble at all accessing the free wifi in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1.2 mi away
Merivale Manor
Merivale Manor
#3 of 146 in Christchurch
662 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
2.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#11 of 146 in Christchurch
1,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
Eliza's Manor Boutique Hotel
#1 of 138 in Christchurch
653 reviews
3.6 mi away
Designer Cottage
Designer Cottage
#3 of 138 in Christchurch
280 reviews
2.8 mi away
Eco Villa
Eco Villa
#9 of 138 in Christchurch
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast

Address: 172 Blighs Road | Strowan, Christchurch 8052, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: $105 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for stunning bed and breakfast accommodation in Christchurch, New Zealand? The Lilac Rose is a charming 100 year old villa that has been completely restored to offer luxury bed and breakfast accommodation. We are conveniently located 7 minutes from both Christchurch airport and the city centre. As a guest at the Lilac Rose you can enjoy generous hospitality and spacious rooms with stylish decor, antiques and fresh flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lilac Rose Boutique Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing